We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 as we were due to visit Hearst Castle as part of our road trip.
Our main reason for choosing this hotel is that we stayed here 3 years ago on another road trip and my wife was happy with the hotel the first time so had no hesitation saying she wanted to return as the rooms were large, clean and most importantly for her, had comfortable beds.
The continental breakfast seemed to have a slightly smaller selection of items to choose from but is still more than adequate if you want a light breakfast.
The Morgan doesn't have restaurant and all the ones nearby close quite early so make sure you've checked in by early evening. On our previous trip we tried the Mexican restaurant next door but it had stopped serving, so dined at the Sunrise Restaurant in the Motel 6 across the road. The food there is reasonably priced and good quality and so we decided to go back
and were not disappointed. We did notice several people arrive around 9pm only to be told they were closed so be aware restaurants close early in San Simeon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    310
    160
    54
    23
See reviews for
216
332
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Best hotel of San Simeon.
Pool is cute.
Rooms are not that big, but its enough, it feels safe and cosy.
Bathroom is clean, enough towels, good shampoo, conditionner.
We arrived late and the front desk was really nice spoke a bit with us about our road trip etc...
The breakfast was very good even if the room was not fitting all of them :), futhermore there is free newspaper .

I will definitely stay there again if I ll go back there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

When we walked into the room it smelled so fresh. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable!! The staff was very friendly. We needed more towels and the desk clerk promptly got more for us. The lobby and hallways were very clean. The grounds were well kept. The breakfast was good and the staff kept everything well stocked. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor due to mobility issues. The room was perfect and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews about this hotel. Yes, people will have a bad experience now and then, but overall The Morgan is THE place to stay in San Simeon. The rooms are very boutique and comfortable, the staff is friendly and efficient. Stayed one night and had a wonderful time. Hearst Castle is a quick 3 miles away. Take a walk to the beach and experience the spectacular sunset!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your praise! There is nothing we enjoy more than a guest who has had a wonderful experience at The Morgan. Great advice to others to enjoy a sunset at the beach.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a 1 night stopover for its proximity to both moonstone beach and the seals. San Simeon is great value for money compared to its neighbouring towns and the Morgan was perfect for us. The room was huge, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast met our needs and the staff were pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked in with a clerk who seemed to have no interest in us at all. We were put in an annex on the second floor and there was no elevator. After driving all day and being senior citizens, that was an effort carrying our luggage up the stairs. Then there was no air conditioning. We found a fan in the closet. Not really effective in cooling the room! The Wi Fi didn't work either. The curtain had a few rips in it. If this is rated #2, I can't imagine the lower rated hotels.
The continental breakfast was adequate, though there were no tables available to sit down when we got there. We had to wait for someone to leave.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Susan Q,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to The Morgan. I am so sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations while you were our guest. We do not have Air Conditioning at The Morgan, most hotels along the coast do not offer AC as the temperature generally stays very cool. We do have a few days where AC would be nice, but fortunately not too many.
I am very sorry that you were not greeted in a friendly and courteous manner, we pride ourselves on our customer service. You also should have been asked if you would like assistance with your luggage and I am very sorry that you were not offered help.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this hotel due to its proximity to the Hearst Castle. Now that I know the area a bit better I think Cambria has more to offer and it is very nearby.

All we did at the Morgan was check in, sleep, and eat breakfast. The continental breakfast was just fine. Remember to bring the tray from your ice bucket if you want to bring items back to your room.
It took less than 10 minutes to drive to the Hearst parking lot the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.