We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morgan Massage
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Quaint hotel, but the staff was not particular friendly. Small, but a clean nice room. We stayed on the first floor and had no view, but none was expected. The breakfast was quite good which included local bakery items. It's pricey in the summer, but every place is that time of year. Convenient location if traveling through the area. I give it a 3.5 stars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The Morgan. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience, but I am very sorry that your were not greeted in a more friendly manner. We usually pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful attitude. I am glad that you enjoyed our continental breakfast, the pastry baked daily at Allocco's Bakery is indeed wonderful!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    264
    135
    50
    21
See reviews for
171
278
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A one night stop over at the Morgan. Lovely location comfortable well stocked rooms, unfortunately the inclusive continental breakfast was of a very poor standard in a cramped self serve area. Breakfast consisted of boiled eggs and Danish pastries there was no meats or cheeses. The staff were friendly and helpful, there was no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs. Would possibly stay there again but would pass on the breakfast and find a local alternative instead

Room Tip: Get room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was nice but a little dated. The rooms were nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and the service was friendly. The contintal breakfast was ok, but not great. If visiting again (Hearst Castle) I would stay here. They do not offer roll-aways so only four people can fit in a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were recently on a coastal trip and had planned a stop at San Simeon to visit Hearst Castle. We arrived in the evening and by that time most local restaurants were closed, but the front desk clerk took the time to call around and find an open restaurant for us. We also found out that there was a problem with our reservation, but another front desk clerk quickly helped us and corrected the problem.
The size of the room was fine and we even had a day bed in there, which my daughter loved. We opened our windows and could hear the ocean waves... very relaxing!!
The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start the day... we didn't use the pool, but the pool area looked so cozy and nice.
The hotel is a little overpriced, but I guess it's because of its location.
All in all we had a great experience with this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was a lovely hotel and very close to The Hearst Castle, but there was no elevator. I recently had knee surgery, and while I am sure if I had told them I needed to be on the main floor, they probably would have accommodated me. However, it would have been nice to know that in advance. I did not see anything about it on their website.

Room Tip: Don't ask for an ocean view-you have to look over the parking lot to catch a glimpse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Morgan. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the property. You are absolutely correct, had we known about your recent surgery we would have made sure your accommodations did not involve climbing stairs! We are always happy to assist our guests in bringing their luggage to their rooms, but we do have rooms on the first floor for those guests who do not wish to climb stairs.
Thank you again!
Michele Berry
General Manager
The Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For $170 per night, I was expecting much more. Our friends who traveled with us paid the same rate and received a king deluxe. Ours was a double. Rooms are very outdated, toilet would flush on approximately the 8th try, and one of the beds was either stained or dirty. Breakfast was included, nothing to brag about. We were on the 2nd floor of an unattached building with no elevator which meant I had to carry my 40+ pound suitcase up the stairs. Seriously, stay at Motel 6 or any other hotel ... save your $$$.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent visit to The Morgan. I am truly sorry that your stay was not all that you had anticipated. Our rooms are assigned based on what room type is reserved, if you had not reserved a room with 2 queen beds, I apologize for any mix up. I am of course extremely sorry and embarrassed about a bed being dirty! It appears that you were in our North Wing, many guests prefer these rooms as the views of the ocean are wonderful and it is a quieter more private experience. It is true that we have no elevator, but we are always happy to offer assistance with our guest’s luggage. Our complimentary continental breakfast is not a full hot breakfast, but we certainly hope with the many pastry, cereal, granola and yogurt selections that it is a good start to our guest’s day.
Michele Berry
General Manager, The Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good value for money, great location for SF-LA stopover, very clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We arrived about 7pm after long drive taking in coastal scenery and the AMAZING elephant seals just north of hotel on highway 1. We were v impressed with the Morgan which exceeded our expectations for a stopover hotel.

We had ground floor room overlooking car park at back so no noise issues at all, beds very comfortable and decent sized room for us & our 3 kids (1 in travel cot). We had lovely meal at The Mexican restaurant next door. Our room was next to reception with pleasant lounge area so once we got kids to bed we took our baby monitor to our "room" next door and shared a very pleasant local bottle of wine from our well stocked mini bar which was v economically priced for a hotel ($15).

Breakfast the next morning was fine for an inclusive though not enough seating as it was v busy. Afterwards our kids loved the small pool (unlike other reviews we found the temperature absolutely fine), before we checked out & headed to Hearst castle for the morning. Overall, perfect & v economical for stopovers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.