We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Hueneme, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I purchased a Living Social Deal & was able to stay at this hotel for $99/night plus a free bottle of wine. I'm glad that is all I paid. This hotel is OK - that is all. It is definitely better then a Motel 6 but not a Best Western. Decorating is nice & the fireplace in the rooms are a plus. Also - If you want to go to Cambria & Hearst, this location is fantastic. It's about 3 minutes from the castle, 5 minutes from the elephant Seals, & 5 minutes from Cambria. So overall, not bad but definitely would not pay more then $99. Not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    280
    150
    50
    22
See reviews for
192
308
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is good for the price and location. Its just down the road from Hearst Castle and close to the beach. The staff was great but the amenities are nothing special. It seems like all the other places in San Simeon are more motels, so I would definitely choose this place over the others!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Morgan. The hubby and I were a little curious about how far it would be to stay in San Simeon, as we always stay in Cambria when we go to the central coast. Literally, the drive (every time, and we timed it)- from the hotel to the north end of town in Cambria is 4 minutes. The price per night for rooms is much more affordable than of what they cost in town during peak season. The Morgan was clean, in a pretty location, very quiet, and nice. While I wouldn't say it quite has the charm that most the boutique hotels on Moonstone have, we will probably stay here in the future due to prices.

The buffet breakfast isn't good for much more than coffee, but that's ok, as you'll find a lot of wonderful breakfast places in Cambria. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very quiet and secluded location. The hotel itself is in good condition and the rooms have a very old world charm about them complete with fire place. Only a short drive to Heart Castle. Breakfast was a little on the stingy side with not much on offer but other than that i would totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Proximity to secluded beach areas and natural beauty was a plus (nice walking areas right outside hotel). Friendly staff, great amenities, clean and comfortable room; nice atmosphere. I liked the wall-attached bottle opener in the mini-bar...you don't see those much anymore. Hot tub would have been a nice addition, but the heated pool was so warm that it was a pleasant little surprise. Overall very pleasant stay; will definitely return if I stay in the area again. I also booked through their website and got a fantastic mid-week deal...well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived on a Friday (Feb. 3, 2013) morning for an overnight stay on our way from Monterey to LA. The receptionist assigned us to the second (detached) building which we thought was quite odd since there were no cars in the parking lot AT ALL. We did not know there was a second bldg so this was an unpleasant surprise. We took the key and reluctantly went to check this room out (puzzled). We were NOT happy with the second bldg. It was stuffy and looked as though it needed remodeling. The room looked older and was not what I had seen online. We went back to the front desk and asked for a room in the main bldg. At first we were met with resistance because they were "sold out" as the receptionist informed us. We found that difficult to believe since the parking lot was EMPTY!! She eventually gave us a room on the 2nd floor in the main bldg and it was clean, nice and represented what I had seen online. The bed was comfortable, carpet clean and the bldg overall was very fresh smelling compared to the 2nd bldg (uugh!!). I would give this hotel a 3plus only if regarding the main bldg. I do not want to have to walk outside to get to the main building to get coffee/tea/cont. brkfast. I would only stay at this hotel again if I was on a one night stay and it MUST be in the main bldg.

Room Tip: good rate for quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to The Morgan. I was disappointed to see that you were not pleased with our North wing. Our North Wing is popular as the rooms do tend to be a little larger and offer far superior views. But I am pleased that we were able to find rooms that you enjoyed.
-Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean accommodations, comfortable beds and very reasonable place to stay in the San Simeon area. Nice complimentary continental breakfast on the premises. Courteous and friendly staff who provided excellent service and good dining recommendations in nearby Cambria. Comfortable and cozy lobby where Dad and Daughter played several fun games of chess, while Mom enjoyed reading and enjoying a fresh complimentary orange and a hot cup of tea. Fireplace in our room was a lovely touch while we watched the sun set over the ocean. Would highly recommend The Morgan when you are in the San Simeon area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.