We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice quaint and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very quiet and secluded location. The hotel itself is in good condition and the rooms have a very old world charm about them complete with fire place. Only a short drive to Heart Castle. Breakfast was a little on the stingy side with not much on offer but other than that i would totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    280
    150
    50
    22
See reviews for
192
308
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Proximity to secluded beach areas and natural beauty was a plus (nice walking areas right outside hotel). Friendly staff, great amenities, clean and comfortable room; nice atmosphere. I liked the wall-attached bottle opener in the mini-bar...you don't see those much anymore. Hot tub would have been a nice addition, but the heated pool was so warm that it was a pleasant little surprise. Overall very pleasant stay; will definitely return if I stay in the area again. I also booked through their website and got a fantastic mid-week deal...well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived on a Friday (Feb. 3, 2013) morning for an overnight stay on our way from Monterey to LA. The receptionist assigned us to the second (detached) building which we thought was quite odd since there were no cars in the parking lot AT ALL. We did not know there was a second bldg so this was an unpleasant surprise. We took the key and reluctantly went to check this room out (puzzled). We were NOT happy with the second bldg. It was stuffy and looked as though it needed remodeling. The room looked older and was not what I had seen online. We went back to the front desk and asked for a room in the main bldg. At first we were met with resistance because they were "sold out" as the receptionist informed us. We found that difficult to believe since the parking lot was EMPTY!! She eventually gave us a room on the 2nd floor in the main bldg and it was clean, nice and represented what I had seen online. The bed was comfortable, carpet clean and the bldg overall was very fresh smelling compared to the 2nd bldg (uugh!!). I would give this hotel a 3plus only if regarding the main bldg. I do not want to have to walk outside to get to the main building to get coffee/tea/cont. brkfast. I would only stay at this hotel again if I was on a one night stay and it MUST be in the main bldg.

Room Tip: good rate for quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to The Morgan. I was disappointed to see that you were not pleased with our North wing. Our North Wing is popular as the rooms do tend to be a little larger and offer far superior views. But I am pleased that we were able to find rooms that you enjoyed.
-Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean accommodations, comfortable beds and very reasonable place to stay in the San Simeon area. Nice complimentary continental breakfast on the premises. Courteous and friendly staff who provided excellent service and good dining recommendations in nearby Cambria. Comfortable and cozy lobby where Dad and Daughter played several fun games of chess, while Mom enjoyed reading and enjoying a fresh complimentary orange and a hot cup of tea. Fireplace in our room was a lovely touch while we watched the sun set over the ocean. Would highly recommend The Morgan when you are in the San Simeon area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a cold February weekend when we arrived to see the Elephant Seal gathering. We had stayed here before & knew that we would find it clean, well kept & close to our travel purpose. Our room (152) was on the bottom floor so we could watch over our Iron Horse (Harley Davidson). The room was very comfortable, well furnished, decorated & reasonably spacious. The heater (no need for an airconditioner in San Simeon) was a wall heater. I hadn't seen one of those in a long time but it worked just fine the few times we turned it on. The bed mattress was comfortable for our medium firm taste. We loved walking down onto the beach at low tide to view the tide pool creatures. It had a small pool sized hot tub in the back of the lobby. The continental breakfast wasn't as complete as I remembered but adequate. We enjoyed our stay in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Morgan. It sounds like you had a nice time and were able to enjoy our beautiful natural surroundings. The elephant seals are fun to see, especially a this time of year with all the new babies.
I would welcome the opportunity to get your ideas on ways we could enhance our breakfast. We are always looking for ways to make improvements.
-Michele Berry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Morgan is a very nice, personal hotel. They serve a nice continental breakfast to their guests and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are nice and roomy with a mini refrigerator in the room. Located conveniently off of Hwy 1 very near Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seal beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to ditch our husbands and go to Cambria for a weekend shopping excursion; however, we felt the hotels in Cambria were too expensive. I went through a discount site and found rooms at the Morgan in San Simeon (about 5 miles from Cambria and a straight shot down the road) for $104/night which was great! At first the desk clerk tried to give us a room that had chipped paint and torn blinds which I immediately nixed. I'm not afraid to speak up, so we were given another room. The next room was next to the dining area (they serve a WONDERFUL breakfast each morning, included in the price), and we were afraid that would be too noisy, so we tried a third time for something else. The desk clerk (very nice and patient) gave us a room in the adjoining building (the Morgan consists of two buildings, separated by a Mexican restaurant). The adjoining building was WONDERFUL! The rooms are MUCH nicer, with fireplaces and a full ocean view (at a distance). The room fronted a beautiful open space area that was so peaceful and quiet. Sooo...ask for the adjoining building! The queen beds were very comfortable and CLEAN. The flat screen TV was large and received a wide variety of cable stations. Since we went in January, the fireplace was nice to have (push a button and you have "instant" fire), and the two stuffed chairs in the room were wonderful to sit in, read the paper, and enjoy the fabulous view. The bathroom was very clean and provided ample towels and all other necessary supplies; the towels are sooo soft--not the cheap hotel towels you sometimes get. The walls are a bit thin, so you if you are on the bottom floor (there are two stories), you can hear folks walking above you.
Breakfast is served in the "main" building at 10:00 AM; however, we got there at 10:15 and were able to have anything we wanted. They offer different cereals, pastries, bagels, muffins, hard-boiled eggs (?), juices, and GREAT coffee. Everyone at the hotel is VERY nice and helpful. The hotel also has a beautiful pool area that resembles an up-scale spa; the pool goes up to 5 feet, so you don't have to worry if you don't swim well. It is a straight shot down the road to Cambria and takes about 5 minutes. Know what to ask for (again...the adjoining building), and you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: REMINDER: Ask for a room in the adjoining building, with a fireplace and ocean view! Top floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.