We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel...We stayed 4 nights....the hotel is extremely fashionable and updated. The lobby was warm with a Christmas tree..large overstuffed couches...all new decor...felt like relaxing in a large beautifully decorated living room. The continental breakfast is served on dishes with a variety of food choice...and really good coffee!!. The dining area overlooked the pool ...which is heated. The front desk is very helpful....and this boutique hotel is close to everything on the central coast! I highly recommend staying at "The Morgan"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    280
    150
    50
    22
See reviews for
192
308
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and booked a great deal on the hotel's website. Stayed one night on a roadtrip from San Francisco area down the coast. Very close to San Simeon, convenient as we had an evening tour at Hearst Castle. Easy parking in front of hotel. Rooms were clean, large with updated bathroom, had a small refridgerator and honor bar. Our room faced Hwy 1 without significant noise; more noise was heard by the occupants upstairs walking around. Hotel is split into 2 locations. We stayed in the main building with registration and the breakfast buffet. Breakfast was good-standard items included hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee/tea/hot chocolate/juice. Local eateries were limited and mostly closed after the evening tour at San Simeon. Would stay here again if needed to be close to Hearst Castle. Don't miss the elephant seal lookout nearby!

Room Tip: Suggest upper level room due to noise. Breakfast is located in the registration building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stop here on our roadtrip from la to san francisco... Its a great stop plus we got to visit hearst castle which is 5 min from here.... Hotel offers breakfast which is great... Would recomend it if visiting hearst castle or driving from la to san fransisco

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel on the beach with spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. Room was large and clean. Offered in room refrigerator that was stocked with soft drinks, beer, and water. Available for use was a working fireplace as it can get cool in the evening. Ceiling fan and open windows provide adequate cooling breezes. Upon request an extra fan will be provided to be placed on the credenza. Breakfast buffet was included and the rate charged for the room was very fair. They also have a heated pool and Spa and direct access to the berach and ocean. Staff was attentive. Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: it is a two floor hotel without elevator access. if you have mobility problems, request aground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My daughter, my friend and I spent the night before visiting Hurst Castle. Angie was very accomodating and allowed us to switch to an upstairs room so we could sleep with the ocean sounds. The room was very clean and had a gas fireplace. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is very central to all the attractions and the helped us get our tickets for the Hurst Castle tours. The complimentary breakfast was not elaborate but it was fresh and the staff was there to keep it tidy. We will stay here on future visits.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you want to sleep with open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were a party of 7 - the staff put us close together. The lobby and eating area were comfortable places to sit and visit. Coffee/tea available all day. Continental breakfast ok. We forgot things in our rooms when we left and they were found and sent to us. The rooms were very comfortable. King rooms have a couch, Queen doubles have 2 arm chairs. There is no elevator to second floor. The rooms on the second floor have fireplaces and on the west side some have views of the ocean. It is an older building and nothing seems to have been done to soundproof between floors or rooms - so if you are very light sleeper I would recommend an upstairs room. Very close to places to eat that are in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a pleasant visit! Everyone was friendly and our room was spacious and very comfortable. The fireplace hit the spot. Only minutes away from Hearst Castle. We would definitely stay here again. Much more than we expected in such a small town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.