We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good roadside place on Highway 1” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good roadside place on Highway 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is on the ocean side of Highway 1, but quite a way from the beach with no clear view, at least not from our somewhat dated room. Very clean, nice staff & free parking. Included breakfast was good. Would stay again. VERY little to do in the area in the evening, but handy for Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    289
    154
    50
    23
See reviews for
202
317
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I (thankfully) only booked one night at the Morgan while visiting the Hearst Castle and Elephant Seal Rookery and the hotel was close to both. There were several issues with the Morgan you should be aware of before booking. I went to first room they assigned (first floor) and immediately checked the window for security. Both locks were broken. Front desk was pleasant and allowed me to change to a second floor room. Be advised that this hotel has no elevator. Upon entering my very warm room I tried to open the windows and both sides were broken. The internal frame actually fell in to the sill and the screen was bent and torn. Switching to the other side, the entire screen unit was bent open and this room was over a flat surface (entrance overhang) so it appeared that someone pried screen off from outside. This troubled me and I was also concerned about bugs flying in during the night. There was one ceiling fan in the corner of the room (instead of centered on the room) that failed to keep the sleeping area cool enough. The bathroom was very tiny with no counter surface, although the shower area had brand new looking tile which was clean and pleasant looking. Upon check out I advised the front desk of the window issues and she said that all windows were being replaced in December 2012. Too late for me and I do not think the structure should go into such disrepair before replacement. You may want to inquire about this before booking to see if it was completed. I was glad I only booked one night and did not feel I got a good night's rest there due to security concerns with windows and subsequent warm, stuffy room. Regarding beach access or view, this is nonexistent. You must drive to see the beach and there are multiple private residences between hotel and beach. Just a few yards down the street is a Best Western right on the beach. And they had a bonfire set up for hotel customers to enjoy the sight and sound of the ocean just steps away from their rooms.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Breakfast was complimentary and was fresh and delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Looking for a last minute getaway for veterans day since it was a 3day weekend. We decided to explore Hearst castle & needed a one night hotel stay. I jumped on Kayak, expedia, & trip advisor. This hotel was the best for the price, location, & the only one with at least 3 stars (others were 2 star hotels). From calling to book our reservation, to check out everything was perfect. Excellent customer service, super super helpful for restaurant ideas in cambria, wineries for tastings, & super clean. I felt like i was in a 4 star hotel not a 3 star as advertised. Would def stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Morgan is a convenient stop if you would like to visit the Hearst Castle, a very popular Central California coast attraction.It is an excellent overnight stop if you are traveling from Santa Barbara to Monterey. Make sure you buy your tickets a week or two ahead (for the Hearst Castle) during the late Spring through early autumn months or you will be closed out of the tours. The Morgan is a well maintained, updated, clean hotel that is well run. It sits along the coast. The staff are pleasant enough, but during our stay could have seemed a little more eager to please. It is close to restaurants and near Cambria for quality dining. We went to Cambria for dinner and walked along the boardwalk there. Watching the the sunset was awesome! The continental breakfast had enough to eat, but some would probably not think it served a full breakfast because pancakes, waffles, or omelets were not served. Believe me there was plenty to eat. I believe the architect of the Morgan was the same women who designed the Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the road noise. I believe the hotel is not air conditioned, due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After driving down the very scenic highway 1, then visiting the stunning Hearst Castle. The Morgan is a perfect rest stop, a lovely feel to it with comfortable rooms and a great breakfast area. 10 mins down the road from Hearst Castle next to a very nice Mexican.
Hopefully will stay again, one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stopped here on our way to SF. It's a ideal stopover location if you drive from LA to SF. Hotel is clean and nicely decorated. It has a very old heating control unit on the wall. No air conditioner. We're in late October, no need for air condition. So we don't know what would be like in summer time. The free breakfast has good variety...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very clean, the rooms look like they are almost new, rooms have easy parking, handy access to Hearst's Castle and Cambria, and very helpful staff. The continental breakfast had a nice variety and was kept well stocked and serviced through the breakfast hours. Easy access off highway 1, very close to San Simeon. For dining Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill is very nearby and was a great place for our sunset dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.