We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Point Inn and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Simeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We stopped for one night whilst driving from San Francsico to LA. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need. We ate one of the best meals we had on the Pacific Coast highway and all of the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel has a store that serves basic necessities and beer and the views are spectacular. The climb down to the beach is not recommended to those who are not fit however it was worth the effort to experience a deserted beach on a stretch of beautiful coastline. The hotel is in a great location and close to several amazing national parks and Hearst Castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good stopover point. It is by no means cheap but very reasonable compared to other hotels in Big Sur.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Tips/Secrets — Make the effort to get to the beach if you can.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    132
    60
    41
    30
See reviews for
64
215
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Ragged Point Inn is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. We were looking for a hotel that was actually in Big Sur, but none of them seemed to be in our price range/view requirements! Ragged Point is just south of Big Sur, but has the same amazing views. We stayed in a "Tier 2" room (king bed, second floor with a balcony) for $206.01 (not that bad for a room in Big Sur)...the room itself is pretty basic and the furnishings a little old, but the view from the balcony made up for everything (see picture). You are so close to the water, you can sleep with your windows open and hear the ocean all night! The Inn has its own restaurant and the food is pretty good (a little overpriced, but is the only option). The Inn also has its own gas station and mini-shop (does not sound exciting, but on Highway 1 gas stations and mini-shops are few and far between). Ragged Point is also one of the only places along that stretch of Highway 1 with its own little, private beach...we did not go to it because it is a pretty steep hike down to it. Ragged Point Inn is so relaxing and beautiful...we will stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stopped for lunch and had one of the best hamburgers during our ten day trip through the central coast of California. This is a wonderful setting, we ate on the outside patio and afterwards walked the short natural trail. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

The Ragged Point Inn is a wonderful, special place. It is a very clean, comfortable, peaceful place to relax and is well worth the trip from any destination. Keep the place in perspective. Rooms in San Simeon and Cambria are probably less expensive, rooms further north on Hwy 1 are probably more expensive. If you want a hotel where you want to continue your rat race, work on your Palm Pilot/cell phone 24/7 and be catered to in a sterile, generic room, then you are going to the wrong place. Save yourself from disappointment and book yourself into a Hilton instead. Your cell phone will probably not work here, there aren't telephones in the rooms, and there aren't alarm clocks either. Take off your wrist watch and try to enjoy the place and slow down.
The Ragged Point Inn is located in South Big Sur; on top of stunning cliffs, overlooking spectacular views of the coast line; the grounds are immaculate and beautiful as any fine park; there is a rickety trail to a private rugged beach; wildlife abounds, whether watching the falcons circle from the cliffs, otters in the ocean, seals barking in the coves, various birds everywhere; and if you catch the right time of year, whales and calves off the point. The AMBIENCE is second to none and therapeutic for the soul. There are many benches and chairs scattered throughout the property that invite you to sit, share a drink, enjoy each other's company and conversation, as you watch the scenery. Our room was clean and very comfortable- private balcony, gas fireplace, whirlpool bath tub, and comfortable furniture. The "older rooms" could be considered a little funky, but they are clean and comfortable. Regardless of which room is selected, hopefully visitors do not miss the whole point of going to Ragged Point by spending more time in your room than spending outside. Watching "Friends" on TV in the room or walking along the trail and watching the sun set on the ocean. Hmmm- no brainer.
The restaurant is okay, the mini mart is over priced, and the gas is very expensive. But the same can be said for most places in San Francisco. Again, keep Ragged Point in perspective: you will be at least 30 minutes, from either direction, from the next available services. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and will eat there again the next time we stay there, because we did not want to drive for an hour to eat and miss out on the time we could spend on the Ragged Point grounds.
If you are looking for a beautiful, special place to get yourself together; to catch your breath; to share a romantic adventure with someone; to marvel at the rugged coastline, then Ragged Point is the place. We return to Ragged Point because of the peacefulness that allows us to unwind, reconnect, and recharge our batteries.

  • Liked — The beautiful view of the coastline from the balcony.
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — Gas up before hand and bring your own wine.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

just forget the negative reviews.

This place is worth every penny to see the mist roll over the sea early in the morning.

we stayed here as a stop over on our way up the coast to San fran on our honeymoon in Sept 2005. Our uncle recommended it. he travels all over the world and stays in the best. he was right. this place is worth it all for the view alone.

we stayed in one of the ocean view rooms. upstairs, with fire, jacuzzi bath and breathtaking views.

it was clean, a large room and we had a fantastic time at hearst castle before arriving. it is basically a nice motel but it was a really amazing part of a fantastic three week honeymoon. we stayed in amazing hotels throughout our trip but i will not forget our night at ragged point for a long time.

we ate the restaurant at sunset, the food was good but the view more memorable. we found Nepenthe the next day,so you can always eat there if your not fussed about the restaurant at ragged point.

the staff were pleasant enough and we had prebooked from the UK with no problems on arrival.

stay here it is a special place!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing, the view made up for any down points
  • Tips/Secrets — get a jacuzzi room, and fill the bath with bubbles, great fun!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here on our honeymoon for one night whilst we were travelling from San Francisco to LA along Highway 1. We had stopped at a few other B&B's and lodges but most of them were either full up or not very nice then we found the Ragged Point Inn.

We asked to look at a room before we checked in (we find it is always best to try an do this if you have just turned up and don’t know what the place is like). The rooms were very nice, especially the fire place as it was a chilly night, and the view was fantastic. We had a luxury room which cost approximately $200.00 per night..

Because of the remote location we had to eat in their restaurant which although looks pretty basic we thought the food was very nice.

Overall we were very satisfied with the stay at the Ragged Point Inn and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling along Highway 1.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

This place is in a great location with great views. The rooms are very dated and are very expensive. I would recommend you go on down to Cambria.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Terrible rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Point Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ragged Point Inn and Resort to your Saves list