We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Ragged Point Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Point Inn and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Simeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Save
You added Ragged Point Inn and Resort to your Saves list
19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Central Coast of California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We loved the Ragged Point Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

The Ragged Point Inn is a wonderful, special place. It is a very clean, comfortable, peaceful place to relax and is well worth the trip from any destination. Keep the place in perspective. Rooms in San Simeon and Cambria are probably less expensive, rooms further north on Hwy 1 are probably more expensive. If you want a hotel where you want to continue your rat race, work on your Palm Pilot/cell phone 24/7 and be catered to in a sterile, generic room, then you are going to the wrong place. Save yourself from disappointment and book yourself into a Hilton instead. Your cell phone will probably not work here, there aren't telephones in the rooms, and there aren't alarm clocks either. Take off your wrist watch and try to enjoy the place and slow down.
The Ragged Point Inn is located in South Big Sur; on top of stunning cliffs, overlooking spectacular views of the coast line; the grounds are immaculate and beautiful as any fine park; there is a rickety trail to a private rugged beach; wildlife abounds, whether watching the falcons circle from the cliffs, otters in the ocean, seals barking in the coves, various birds everywhere; and if you catch the right time of year, whales and calves off the point. The AMBIENCE is second to none and therapeutic for the soul. There are many benches and chairs scattered throughout the property that invite you to sit, share a drink, enjoy each other's company and conversation, as you watch the scenery. Our room was clean and very comfortable- private balcony, gas fireplace, whirlpool bath tub, and comfortable furniture. The "older rooms" could be considered a little funky, but they are clean and comfortable. Regardless of which room is selected, hopefully visitors do not miss the whole point of going to Ragged Point by spending more time in your room than spending outside. Watching "Friends" on TV in the room or walking along the trail and watching the sun set on the ocean. Hmmm- no brainer.
The restaurant is okay, the mini mart is over priced, and the gas is very expensive. But the same can be said for most places in San Francisco. Again, keep Ragged Point in perspective: you will be at least 30 minutes, from either direction, from the next available services. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and will eat there again the next time we stay there, because we did not want to drive for an hour to eat and miss out on the time we could spend on the Ragged Point grounds.
If you are looking for a beautiful, special place to get yourself together; to catch your breath; to share a romantic adventure with someone; to marvel at the rugged coastline, then Ragged Point is the place. We return to Ragged Point because of the peacefulness that allows us to unwind, reconnect, and recharge our batteries.

  • Liked — The beautiful view of the coastline from the balcony.
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — Gas up before hand and bring your own wine.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    153
    67
    43
    34
See reviews for
79
241
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

just forget the negative reviews.

This place is worth every penny to see the mist roll over the sea early in the morning.

we stayed here as a stop over on our way up the coast to San fran on our honeymoon in Sept 2005. Our uncle recommended it. he travels all over the world and stays in the best. he was right. this place is worth it all for the view alone.

we stayed in one of the ocean view rooms. upstairs, with fire, jacuzzi bath and breathtaking views.

it was clean, a large room and we had a fantastic time at hearst castle before arriving. it is basically a nice motel but it was a really amazing part of a fantastic three week honeymoon. we stayed in amazing hotels throughout our trip but i will not forget our night at ragged point for a long time.

we ate the restaurant at sunset, the food was good but the view more memorable. we found Nepenthe the next day,so you can always eat there if your not fussed about the restaurant at ragged point.

the staff were pleasant enough and we had prebooked from the UK with no problems on arrival.

stay here it is a special place!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing, the view made up for any down points
  • Tips/Secrets — get a jacuzzi room, and fill the bath with bubbles, great fun!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here on our honeymoon for one night whilst we were travelling from San Francisco to LA along Highway 1. We had stopped at a few other B&B's and lodges but most of them were either full up or not very nice then we found the Ragged Point Inn.

We asked to look at a room before we checked in (we find it is always best to try an do this if you have just turned up and don’t know what the place is like). The rooms were very nice, especially the fire place as it was a chilly night, and the view was fantastic. We had a luxury room which cost approximately $200.00 per night..

Because of the remote location we had to eat in their restaurant which although looks pretty basic we thought the food was very nice.

Overall we were very satisfied with the stay at the Ragged Point Inn and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling along Highway 1.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

This place is in a great location with great views. The rooms are very dated and are very expensive. I would recommend you go on down to Cambria.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Terrible rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed here on a foggy July evening which meant the whole reason for staying here ,(VIEW), was gone. The rooms are really in need of updating, the arrangement of furniture was weird, not to meantion really old. The floor sagged when walked on and the bed was creaky. There was no refrigeratgor in the room nor iron or board.. The front desk recommended we make reservations for dinner at the restaurant, which we did, but there was just a few diners there when we ate. The food was mediocre to say the least and way overpriced. I would not stay here again, probably opting for Moonstone beach next time.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Condition of room
  • Tips/Secrets — Good place to stop and rest, but keep going.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Although the Ragged Point Inn has a beautiful beach coast location, that is where the beauty of the inn ends. We recently stayed there for a wedding and could not believe that the hotel manages to stay in business. The rooms are AWFUL. Our first room had a ceiling so low that my 6'4" husband could barely fit in the shower. The shower head hit his navel. The room didn't even have a closet--just a bar that went across the room. When I tried to discuss the fact that my husband couldn't possible stay in this room, the staff was extremely rude and refused to do anything about it. We were told, "If you don't like it, you can leave!" So we checked out.

We later found out that they were happy to refund our money only because they were going to charge the bride and groom for the room. Because of that we returned to the hotel with our tails between our legs and were booked into a different room. Why they couldn't have put us into this larger room to begin with is beyond me. The room was bigger but suffered from the same problem as the first--strange bugs all over the bathroom and bedroom.

All of the rooms look like they were furnished with BAD garage sale finds and do nothing to spoke the fires of romance.

The many interactions we had with the staff were awful. Everyone was rude, from the over-priced restaurant's staff to the management and wedding coordinator. I would NEVER recommend this hotel--not even to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ragged Point Inn for 2 nights and loved it. The location is spectacular - on a cliff top and surrounded by hills.

Our room had floor to ceiling windows and looked out onto the sea. There was a little patio at the back where you could sit and gaze at the view. Very few residents walked past so there was no noise or disturbance.

The rooms were large, comfortable and extremely clean.

The restaurant has delicious food and the service is very friendly and quick. There's also a gas station and a mini mart if you need any bits and pieces.

Only thing to say is that breakfast isn't included in the price but you can either have breakfast at the restaurant or buy food at the mini mart.

We didn't really speak to the management or see them around much apart from checking in but then again we didn't need to as everything was just great.

We would recommend Ragged Point Inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Point Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.