We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop along the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ragged Point Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Nice stop along the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our night here was a spur-of-the-moment opportunity, having decided we were a bit tired to carry on to our intended destination. While it is quite expensive for what you get, it's also a very nice place and we didn't regret the cost.

The large room had a very nice glass-fronted gas fire, a big and very comfortable bed, and a beautiful ocean view. The property is looking a bit dated and our bathroom particularly reflected that, but it was well maintained and cleaned.

Enough facilities are provided on site to meet all one's needs and we enjoyed both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant.

We would happily stay again.

Room Tip: If you get in early enough, ask for an upstairs room in the South wing - the views here are better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    167
    69
    45
    34
See reviews for
87
261
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'll be honest and say that I originally planned on staying at Treebones, however they had a two night minimum stay and we were only passing through Big Sur for one night. Ragged Point was perfect for us and it has the feel of staying at camp. There are the rooms, a small grocery store, a casual food shop, and a formal restaurant. Everything is self-contained on one property which is great considering the drive around the area. Big Sur is very isolated and you don't want to be on the road at night looking for a restaurant. The room was large and a little outdated but we didn't mind. The window was floor to ceiling which made for beautiful ocean views. We walked around the property and took a ton of photographs. We had dinner at the restaurant which wasn't too bad. The service was a little slow but I really enjoyed the food and wine selection. In the morning, breakfast was a little disappointing. I ordered the strawberry pancakes which came out burned. They removed it from the bill. Other than that, we had a nice stay and it was a very relaxing and peaceful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Deluxe with ocean view and it was totally worth it. We had a small fireplace in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

WOW. what a great place. Great room, views were amazing, extremely clean and spacious.

A one night stop over on the way to San Fran, it was slightly out of our set budget, but we needed a bed and this place was chosen. Cannot complain about the quality of the place. It was fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Walked in as looked lovely..very accommodating insisting on room check to see if we liked it...very clean and comfortable. Large rooms..reception staff very pleasant and accommodating. Dinner in the restaurant was good value and very nice. Price of the room was very reasonable. If we had of known this was here we would have cut our stay in San Francisco short and spent more time here...views absolutely stunning..10/10

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night on the way to San Fran and were really pleased with our room, which we'd booked with fairly low expectations.

Rooms are huge and, though a little dated, perfectly comfortable and clean. The location however more than makes up for any flowery bedspreads. THEY ARE INSANE! Get there before sunset for the most beautiful views I have ever seen.

There are plenty of amenities on site, including a restaurant but after eating dinner and breakfast we would recommend bringing a picnic and enjoying the views from your deck or balcony. The food wasn't terrible, average at best but it is overpriced and we were disappointed. Instead, I'd pick up a bottle of local wine, and do things on your own terms.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view come with a premium price tag but the other buildings are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself, and our 2 daughters were driving the pch, I wasn't feeling particularly well and it was getting late and we came across the ragged point inn, we asked if rooms were available and were given the keys to take a look at I believe it was room 33, I will be honest in saying I was expecting old fashioned, smelly and unappealing, but got a lovely surprise when we opened the door. The room was spotless, everything looked fairly new, there was a lovely flame effect fire heater, and the view is amazing!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ragged Point is at the bottom end of Big Sur. Great launching point for elephant seal watching and Hearst Castle.

The views from the rooms are spectacular. We were in cabin 7, and I'd definitely recommend one of the cabins on the second floor for the views.

The grounds were really nice, and the "Nature Trail" hike is fun and well worth doing (though note it is very steep and doesn't have the best footing).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Point Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.