We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Point Inn and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Simeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Save
You added Ragged Point Inn and Resort to your Saves list
19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Walked in as looked lovely..very accommodating insisting on room check to see if we liked it...very clean and comfortable. Large rooms..reception staff very pleasant and accommodating. Dinner in the restaurant was good value and very nice. Price of the room was very reasonable. If we had of known this was here we would have cut our stay in San Francisco short and spent more time here...views absolutely stunning..10/10

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    153
    67
    43
    34
See reviews for
79
241
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night on the way to San Fran and were really pleased with our room, which we'd booked with fairly low expectations.

Rooms are huge and, though a little dated, perfectly comfortable and clean. The location however more than makes up for any flowery bedspreads. THEY ARE INSANE! Get there before sunset for the most beautiful views I have ever seen.

There are plenty of amenities on site, including a restaurant but after eating dinner and breakfast we would recommend bringing a picnic and enjoying the views from your deck or balcony. The food wasn't terrible, average at best but it is overpriced and we were disappointed. Instead, I'd pick up a bottle of local wine, and do things on your own terms.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view come with a premium price tag but the other buildings are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself, and our 2 daughters were driving the pch, I wasn't feeling particularly well and it was getting late and we came across the ragged point inn, we asked if rooms were available and were given the keys to take a look at I believe it was room 33, I will be honest in saying I was expecting old fashioned, smelly and unappealing, but got a lovely surprise when we opened the door. The room was spotless, everything looked fairly new, there was a lovely flame effect fire heater, and the view is amazing!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ragged Point is at the bottom end of Big Sur. Great launching point for elephant seal watching and Hearst Castle.

The views from the rooms are spectacular. We were in cabin 7, and I'd definitely recommend one of the cabins on the second floor for the views.

The grounds were really nice, and the "Nature Trail" hike is fun and well worth doing (though note it is very steep and doesn't have the best footing).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good location with a great view. Our room was #26, spacious but noisy all night because of the ice-maker motor outside. No microwave, fridge or phone - which was just fine since the view is breathtaking. The coastal drive was very pleasant - cool breeze, warm sun, good music playing... There were two points with construction slow down, not a major concern if one is patient.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 26 - ice maker motor runs all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from Big Sur. we stayed two nights at the Ragged Point Inn. Our room had an awesome view. And for the price I would recommend it to everyone. The grounds are beautiful, green, flowered and very well maintained. The restaurant is good with very fresh fish and a friendly staff. We loved it and will return

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

You fully expect Buz and Tod to pull in off of the PCH in their Corvette Stingray, head to the snack bar for a Coke, and wind up talking to a teenage runaway down by the overlook, it is that 60's. A wonderful change in lodging from what most travelers expect/encounter today. Yes, not that many stations on what is for sure not flat screen TV in the room. No free wi-fi either. Yes, a bottle of Anchor Steam Ale will set you back $4 in the mini mart. The clunky gas fireplaces will wake you at night as they fire up with a loud "thunk". But the gift shop has an actual library of books and nature guides all attuned to the Big Sur Coastline. And the views from almost anywhere on the property. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a wonderful selection of teas and coffee for in room service, what more could you ask for $215/night in this wonderful region? We stayed on a "winter special" in March which included dinner and breakfast in this room rate. It was advertised as "not including drinks or desserts or gratuity", so the dinner was just the entree, left feeling that at least a small appetizer or salad could have been included. Same for breakfast, which was coffee or juice, but not both. But food was of good quality and quantity for both meals. Small points. Given that you are miles from other dining opportunities and after a long day of hiking you are grateful for reasonable meals without having to get back into your car. Service was a bit slow, but this seemed to be off season without a full contingent of help, but was also small stuff as you had the fully glassed in restaurant to sit in the spring sunshine and take in the views of the coast and well kept gardens that dot the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Point Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.