We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunset” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Point Inn and Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Simeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The sunset views were spectacular. The room was rather pricy. No special amenities. You had to buy internet service, but we couldn't get it to work. The staff couldn't give help on that; they offered the use of the phone to call the internet provider. No cell phone service because of the mountains. Beautiful gardens with lots of butterflies, hummingbirds, and other birds. Restaurant food was fairly good, but the service was slow. The sign at the entrance said wait to be seated, but no one was there either time we walked in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    132
    61
    42
    32
See reviews for
67
216
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed just one night at Ragged Point, and enjoyed it a lot. We took ground floor with back exit right to the cliff edge over the ocean, and the view is magical all the time you see it.
The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated.

The restaurant which served breakfast and dinner, was excellent, food delicious and staff very friendly.
Also, there is souvenir shop and small gas station next to the Inn, in a convenient location. We also liked park with amazing trees and flowers, surrounded with ocean view points.

Definitely, we will prefer to stay here next time and recommend this place to the friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have exit to the green area in the backyard, but first floor ones have balkonies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Actually stayed in June 2011 (been meaning to put this review up for ages!!)
The hotel itself is fairly basic and desparately needs updating, but the views are amazing but overall no where near worth the money you pay!! The hotel had stopped serving food when we arrived as it was late (we had been diverted as there was a landslide on the coast road). So we had to go to the petrol station next door and buy some food. When we got back to our room we noticed that the two bottles of beer and a chocolate bar we had bought were out of date by a few months!! so the next morning we went over to the petrol station and asked for our money back. The manager was there and was extremely rude, and said that he would not offer us a refund as it is our responsibility to check it before we buy it!!! after some heated words we left the hotel extremely angry!!! We put in a formal complaint and filled in a form at the hotel reception but never got a response via email!! So starving hungry we went down to the road to Cambria where we went to a best western right on the sea front and had a lovely breakfast! would never go to ragged point again, extremely over-priced and a terrible stay!!!

Room Tip: just dont bother with this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Georgetown, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently spent one night here on the way from San Jose to Cambria. The room was just average, but the grounds and views are spectacular. And, after all, what other reason is there for driving Highway 1? Dinner in the restaurant was very nice and breakfast in the breakfast bar was also nice, especially if you take your coffee and scone and sit on the deck beside the koi pond.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is such a great Inn. Located in the splendidly desolate Big Sur it is a great place to get away from it all. Come to terms with no, or very spotty, cell or Wi-fi coverage.

We had an upstairs room facing the south cliffs and found a very tastefully appointed room. They even had a wine-opener for us. They have a very good coffee bar (and I dont say that about most restaurants) with excellent pastries. My wife and I both enjoyed our dinners. The staff was a little frantic at times.

It may be that some of the rooms are not great so try to stay on the second floor facing south. Cost was $200 but well worth it to us. (And we are a bit cautious about passing around that kind of money.)

If at all possible, be at the sea front for the sundown. Ten of us gathered to watch together and it was a nice communal moment.

Room Tip: Second Floor facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed one night at the Ragged Point, and got there late in the evening, to get the most out of my trip along US Highway 1 the next morning. Given its location high up on a cliff with a dramatic view over the Pacific ocean, this place can probably get away with anything during the season.

I can only speak of the room I rented, which was in the reception building. It was adequate, and could need an upgrade, but OK for my purpose. The price, a little stiff for a motel outside the season, did not include neither breakfast, nor WiFi.

However, the service I met, can only be saved by the location. I hope what I experienced is not representable for the rest of the hotel staff (I didn't meet many, as I arrived late and left early). The receptionist was unpleasant, stern and unfriendly. I was given the feeling that I was creating unnecessary work for her. She had a "take it or leave it" attitude, to put it mildly.

It may be worth a stay for the view, but based on my experience - not for the service attitude!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the ragged point inn and really enjoyed the inn as well as the restaurant. The inn is located at the southern end of the big sur highway one road which is perfect for either direction. Whether you've spent the day travelling south or as an excellent location to start the road north on the following day. Though your close to Hearst castle and elephant seal beach, your also on bluffs that typify the beauty of this stretch of the coast. Fortunately we arrived in time to enjoy the grounds and lovely views for sunset.
The rooms are easily the best value for the quality along the coast withlarge spacious rooms complete flat screens etc if you choose to use them. Previously we'd stopped just to eat the inns restaurant and once again it provided cuisine of a really good quality. We really like that it has a wide ranging menu including vegetarian food. Each of us ordered completely different styles of food which were prepared to a high standard. Good wine list and very good service throughout the whole complex. We'll definitely enjoy revisiting ragged point.

Room Tip: Spring and fall are the best times if you want to enjoy the beautiful ocean views from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway One, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Point Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ragged Point Inn and Resort to your Saves list