We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay

Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay
W.R. Hearst Memorial Beach, San Simeon, CA 93452
805-927-6575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 attractions in San Simeon
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on beautiful San Simeon Bay, the Coastal Discovery Center offers interactive exhibits and educational programs which highlight the cultural and natural history of San Simeon, California State Parks, and Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The interface of land and sea is unique here, drawing people for its rich bounty, economic opportunity, recreation and inspiration. Protecting these special places preserves them for use and enjoyment for generations to come.
Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What can I say about the Central Coast , except that I love it up here, dont forget to take the drive all the way up to Big Sur while visiting the Coast line , people from around the world come to take that drive up Hwy One thur Big Sur , better than going to HAWAII !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great interp center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A great visitor center with fun, interactive displays. Top it with a walk out on the pier and a picnic for a great day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Small little discovery center. Some cool touch and look at displays for young and old. A great place to spend 30 to 40 minutes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tony place packed with cool stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is only open Friday thru Sunday, so when we arrived on a Sunday, I made it a point to stop by here. At first, it looked so small that it wasn't going to be so great, but I was wrong.

The woman working there (Irene?) was super nice and spent tons of time with us. We learned all about the Elephant Seals and tide pools and lots of other stuff.

I was glad it was our first stop because another day we were exploring the tide pools and we were able to identify all the different things we were seeing. We also went to see the seals and already knew some things about them too.

Great little place, full of info and FREE!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dont forget to collect Big Sur map”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Its at a nice place with a pier jutting out. At the center, get teh Big Sur map with attractions detailed out on it. It will be helpful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coastal Discovery Center at San Simeon Bay to your Saves list