We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar

Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar
Hwy 1 entrance to San Simeon Cove, San Simeon, CA
805-927-3307
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I would have guessed that if you own the only place in town, and you have built-in traffic from Hearst Castle, you might not be that motivated to serve great food, but I would have been wrong. The sandwiches aren't cheap, but they're big enough to share. The beef dip sandwich may have been the best sandwich I have ever eaten, and my son had a truly awesome burger. This is a tiny place, expect to wait a bit, you might not find a place to sit, but don't pass it up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    72
    27
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, PA USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Monster sized burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A charming little general store with a wonderful take-away counter. There are some tables indoors and outside to enjoy your meal, but not many. One burger is more than enough for two people to enjoy ~ and the burgers are delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like everyone who visits Sebastian what a nice surprise. Food was fantastic. Cashier was not able to handle more than one ticket but the kitchen staff was right on top of orders. Best messy burger ever, and I hate messy burgers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stopped in here at lunch, had to wait in line because it is very popular, but was rewarded with the best pastrami sandwich I have ever had. Make sure you stop here! (staff was a little curt, though).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Go Early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had read the admonitions about having to wait in a long line, so we timed our visit to Hearst Castle so that we would be at Sebastian's before noon. We walked right up to the window, but by the time our food came the line was out the door. As advertised the hamburgers are fabulous. We bought a half-pounder and split it. There was plenty for both of us. There was a couple from the Netherlands next to us and before they ate they photographed their sandwich saying their friends at home would never believe it! It was a chilly morning, so the sunny patio with small tables was very inviting. They also have picnic tables under shade trees for warmer days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.