We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stop after the Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar

Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar
Hwy 1 entrance to San Simeon Cove, San Simeon, CA
805-927-3307
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Jose
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice place to stop after the Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place has amazing food . We stopped here after we finished two tour at Hearst Castle. The place has outside and inside seating, we chose to sit outside because it was a nice day. I ordered the Big Sur Veggie Sandwich and my wife ordered the veggie burger. We sat outside and we received our food in about 10 minutes. My Veggie sandwich was outstanding it had 8 different vegetables on it along with a pickle and chips . So go hungry and be wild and order something you have not had you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“A great Lunch...in an unusual Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

On a return trip to Sebastian's I went for the half pound Hearst Ranch Cheeseburger as recommended by many previous Tripadvisor reviewers. Glad I did...it was amazing.

The meat was VERY good...Hearst Ranch beef, the best of the best. I like my hamburgers cooked Medium Rare and the patty was cooked to absolute perfection.. It came with all the usual condiments. I added a little Bleu Cheese and Grilled Onion...yum!!!

I don't know where Sebastian's get their hamburger buns, but this one was fresh, unusual and very good.

Calories..?? I don't want to know..!!

In any case, this little place does get busy. We arrived at five till eleven on a weekday. At eleven it was fairly full.

As many other reviewers have noticed, you can get two meals out of just about any sandwich or burger they serve so I'll have to rate the place relatively inexpensive for what you get.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after touring the Hearst Castle. Well worth the wait. Sandwiches were huge and very tasty. I had one of the best French dips I've ever had. We sat outside on picnic tables and enjoyed the view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great old store for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great place to take a break while taking tours of the Hearst Castle. The sandwichs are unbelievable and one is enought to feed two people. Each sandwich is custon made so it takes a few minutes but well worth the wait. The Hearst Ranch beef is range fead and great eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best lunch/brunch stop after Hearst Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to a Hearst Castle tour early in the morning and by the time we were done around 12:00 p.m. we went to Sebastian's Gift Shop and Coffee Bar. The place is so highly rated and packed that we queued for about 1:00 hr. The popular hits seem to be the Hearst French Dip and the Burgers which were delicious due to the great quality of the Hearst beef. The total for two people came about to 20 dollars, but be sure you are hungry as the sizes are huge. You can easily share a dish and be happily satisfied.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian's Gift Shop & Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.