We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearst Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hearst Castle

Hearst Castle
750 Hearst Castle Road, San Simeon, CA 93452
805 927 2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 attractions in San Simeon
Type: Historic Sites, Castles, Monuments/ Statues
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It took 28 years to complete William Randolph Hearst's lavish estate, which includes 165 rooms on 125 acres.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hearst Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited the castle in August and took the basic castle tour. This is quite a remarkable place. We enjoyed the tour and thought the tour guide did a great job. Worth visiting if in the San Simeon area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,354
    580
    192
    68
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great new tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The tours at Hearst Castle have been restructured and a real improvement. Now visitors can stay up at the castle and continue to tour or just walk around and take a different bus back to the visitor's center. Every time we visit Hearst Castle we learn something new. An amazing place to visit!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hearst Castle is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited the Hearst Castle in September and had a wonderful time. It is now run by the CA park service and was well worth the trip. On the drive up we passed fields of cows and zebras as well as some mountain goats. You park at the visitor center and they bus you up to the castle to go on whatever tour you purchased. There are different tours available. We saw some of the grand rooms of the castle and heard stories about the famous guests who had stayed there. Very entertaining. After our tour we were able to roam the grounds and look at other buildings and the beautiful landscaping and flowers as well as the amazing pools. The view of the ocean and surrounding area was gorgeous. A great side trip while in California.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A night time fantasy and what it must have been like in the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

During the holiday season the Castle which is an attraction run by the California State Parks offers evening tours. This tour is very popular so it is a must to make a reservation. This tour is very complete. It requires lots of walking and steps so take comfy shoes and it gets chilly so dress warmly. During this tour they have people posing in period so it gives you a glimpse of what it might have been like in the day. The guides are very knowledgeable and attentive. Shout out for Daniel. He had a answer for all questions asked. I learned that for small groups I believe of 8 one can arrange for a 3 hour private tour. It is more expensive but probably more intimate and more leisurely. I think I will try that next time. While one can grab a bite at the center below there is no food or drink allowed nor flash on cameras. This is really a must if touring the central coast.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washoe City, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Once upon a time in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A glimpse a one America's richest family estate. They started building it in the early 20th century. The "castle" as locals call it, is filled with architecture treasures from around the world.
It is a magical place set on top of hillside over looking the Pacific Ocean. The details in each room are amazing. The view from the garden and the pool spectacular.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearst Castle also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hearst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearst Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hearst Castle to your Saves list