We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cherfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Simeon Lodge to your Saves list
San Simeon Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9520 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cherfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

You get what you pay for . This is a cheap but clean and friendly motel. There is no where cheap to eat nearby mind so if you are on a budget you may want to bring your own or eat before get there. Coffee on our porch drinking coffee and eating shop bought wass grand though with our view of the Pacific

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, its worth the exta $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    164
    132
    47
    27
See reviews for
104
195
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location and lovely hotel. Rooms large, modern, comfortable and very clean. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by a lovely female member of staff who was very helpful. We were invited to enter a lucky dip competition for charity for 2$ and to our surprise we won 2 tickets to Hearst Castle! Best day out ever -so magical would thoroughly recommend it views alone to and from the castle were breathtaking.

Breakfast was delightful, yet again the staff were very pleasant. We were sorry to leave, had we have known how scenic San Simeon was -surrounded by such a beautiful landscape full of wildlife we would definitely have stayed at The Morgan for a second night.

Thoroughly recommend it - the night before we had stayed at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch in Carmel which was a real disappointment. Not a patch on the friendly staff, service and accommodation of The Morgan at a much better price too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My adult son, myself and my two small dogs stayed 4 days at the san simeon lodge while attending my daughters wedding in cambria. We picked this place because we were traveling with my dogs.
The location was wonderful, we could just walk across the street to the beach. We got a room facing the courtyard and pool on the 1st floor since we had the dogs. The room had a divider with two queen beds and it was perfect giving us both the privacy that we wanted.
Overall we were very happy with our stay. The best part was the price which was very reasonable and although we were told when making the reservation that there would be a $15.00 @ night charge per dog ($120.00) the manager waived the pet fee for our stay.
The staff was very nice and helpful .
The cons were the bathroom shower had almost no water pressure and was miserable. Also the lighting in the bathroom made it impossible to put on makeup. The ice machine was located outside in back of the building and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned (mold was evident) ever!
We would stay here again when traveling this way.
During the summer we stayed at the Morgan Hotel, across the street(and paid twice as much) and would never stay there again.

Room Tip: I think a room on the second floor would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were in the area to attend a wedding in Cambria (a few miles south) and to do some sightseeing. Location convenient to Hearst Castle, Cambria (a delightful town) and Morro Bay. We also drove up to Big Sur one day. AARP rate was $50 for a king bed. Bed was comfy, pillows flat, but there were extra pillows in each dresser drawer! Pool was heated and we used it one sunny day. Desk staff friendly. 2 nights into our stay, we were asked by the desk to change rooms to a double queen room-the roof was scheduled to be repaired. They did not offer to assist with the move, but did not (and should not have) charged us more for the more expensive room. There is a restaurant/bar on site. We had an average breakfast there one morning. The ocean is just across Highway 1. We had no problem crossing and went for walks on the beach that we thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, we were pleased with what we got for what is an extremely low rate for the area.

Room Tip: No elevator that I saw-we stayed on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip down the coast. Very good location for Hearst Castle and the elephant seal colony, with a beach just across the road. Check in staff were very nice and efficient, our upstairs room was basic but clean and had a view of the ocean. There was a free standing fan in the room rather than aircon, which was fine at the time we were there. There was no breakfast offering included in the room rate, so we used the minimart attached to the hotel to buy cereals and milk etc. Fairly unremarkable on the whole, but nothing really wrong with the hotel. Good value for money for this part of the coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our anniversary trip. It was a last minute stop so we were not sure about the hotel, and didn't have prior reservations. We were greeted with a smile and the staff was very friendly. They also gave us a coupon to save on the dinner that is across the way. It was a very pleasant stay. We will stay here again as we travel this way alot. Glad we had the chance to stop. The pool was very nice. The rooms were very very clean and well worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this hotel for the price just for one night as a stopover from LA to SF and to see Hearst castle. It is just a few minutes drive to the castle. Across the road from the bay, helpful staff, adequate room for the price, nice and quiet and clean. Very happy with our stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Simeon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Simeon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.