We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, great price, I'd return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Simeon Lodge to your Saves list
San Simeon Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9520 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Really nice, great price, I'd return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you drive down from san fran, this is at the bottom of Big Sur. I great place to stop after a long day of harrowing cliffs and stunning views. Then, take the inland highway back up.

Great price, 2 double beds, separated into different areas in the room. Nice bathroom. Lots of space. There's no town, so it's quiet. Walk across the street for beach access. Kids can cross alone because the traffic is so sparse.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    143
    114
    41
    25
See reviews for
92
170
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I wanted a room with ocean view but they are located at the second floor. Since I have accessibility concerns, I picked a room on the first level with direct access to courtyard, pool and gym through a patio sliding door. King bed was comfortable, clean bathroom but floor carpet smelled musty. My room had a coffee maker, no fridge or microwave oven. Contrary to other reviews, I did not experience any bed bugs. There is internet access with password provided by the staff. Had good sleep for the first two nights but floor overhead creaked on third night from footsteps of new arrivals occupying room above mine on second level. I wanted to explore more the neighboring towns and scenery around San Simeon so I extended my stay for one more night. The lady at the reception desk forgot to reactivate my key card for the extended stay, hence the key card refused to open my room. It was raining that night and since the access to the room is from outdoor across the parking lot, I was attempting to open the door under the rain. I had to go back to my car, drive around the property towards the reception area to have my key card reactivated. I did not want this incident to spoil my vacation so I let it slide. The lodge has its own bar and restaurant with friendly and accomodating staff.
The lodge is strategically located. It is walking distance from the ocean, 5 miles drive to the Hearst Castle and 5 miles drive to Cambria, a very friendly and humble town. It is also about 19 miles drive to Morro Bay.
Over-all, I enjoyed my stay in San Simeon. San Simeon is a simple and unpretensious place with simple and unpretensious people. I love San Simeon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Yes, $50 a night...

Small room in a building worn around the edges.
Porous walls allowing me to hear the neighbors' movements & their pets.
A shower head so low it barely reached my chin.

A friendly & attentive staff.
A clean room.
Great location, a few minutes drive to Hearst Castle or Cambria village.
The beach & ocean across the highway.
Free WIFI.

About what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is the closest hotel to Hearst Castle. It is across the street from the ocean and all rooms face the ocean. You can watch sunset from your room. It's close to the Castle and there are some good beaches not too far away.

It provides a fridge and coffee. Rooms are big enough. Our biggest complaint were the very creaky floors. We were on second floor so no problem for us. Good thing no one was below us.

San Simeon is about 5 minutes from CAmbria. I don't know if there are any good restaurants in San Simeon but I know there are some great restaurants in San Simeon. Check out Robins or Madelines or Linns restaurants for fantastic food.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor. All rooms face oean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's a good deal! It's definitely two-star, but don't let that stop you. Great location close to Hearst Castle and the The Piedras Blancas elephant seal rookery.
We paid $49 bucks per night plus 11% tax for a Thursday/Friday stay. Aside from the minor inconveniences such as creaky floors, thin walls and a noisy fridge in the room, it was decent. Our room was clean, well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Our room had an up stairs ocean view and you could hear the crashing waves. The grounds are clean and well maintained. There is a restaurant, bar, mini-mart and liquor store on the 4.5 acre grounds. Drinks were a little pricey at $10 bucks for a small glass of wine, but the restaurant was competitive with others nearby and the food was good. The best part for us was the beach access. Oh, and the lodge has a gym, pool, sauna and two computer terminals as well as WiFi available. Check-in/out was a snap. Nice!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203. Ocean views are in upstairs rooms only. Minor view obstructions to ocean in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We've just come back from Big Sur and Hearst Castle. I booked a two queen room at San Simeon Lodge for one night for about $70. The hotel is situated on the other side of Highway 1, across from the ocean. We arrived on Saturday night - 2/11, the check-in was simple, and we were given a room on the second floor. We then had dinner at the lodge, and the food was good, although a bit pricey. There were very few people in the restaurant, and the atmosphere was calming and relaxing, they do not play loud annoying music (as many places do), there was some sort of lounge/ambiance mix pouring from the speakers.
The two queen room itself is perfect for a small family, as the room is divided into two separate sections, which provides you with some privacy. It looks like the hotel has been renovated, as the walls looked freshly painted, the furniture and the beds looked good, everything was clean, including the bathroom and the floor carpet. Internet connection is a hit or miss, although they do provide you with a password, however I understand that they probably have issues with Internet more or less often in that area.
In the morning we woke up to the sunlight and ocean view from the room. The little pool in the courtyard looked clean as well, but was closed due to winter season. We had breakfast at the lodge and were not disappointed. Pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream were surprisingly tasty, and I know good pancakes, as I'm Russian:)
We headed to Hearst Castle Visitor Center afterwards, which is probably about 5 minutes drive from the lodge. Very convenient.
Another thing I loved about the lodge and this area, that it is kind of secluded. I felt that we got far away from the hustle-bustle of San Francisco, and that was exactly the experience we were looking for.
We spent the second night at Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo, and you can read my review of Madonna Inn as well, if you feel like it. It was different, but quite enjoyable too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #217, this is the second floor two queen room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Doing a Big Sur up and back as I do whenever I get the chance, I decided to stay here instead of farther up the coast to make the trip back to LA easier. It was a good decision, as the highway was closed at Lucia by a rockslide, and we would have had a terrible time getting around it to Big Sur proper.

I wasn't thrilled to be near the Hearst Castle, having been there and done that once. Also not thrilled by the strip of lodgings here, as well as the whole hotel row just south in Cambria. But the price here was good, especially for across the street from the ocean, so I booked it. It was a really good choice: when a friend decided to come along, I changed from a king ocean view to two doubles, for a lower price. Then we were upgraded from that to two queens for the same price, and the room was spacious, with the ocean visible even from a non-ocean view room on the first floor, and actually divided so the beds aren't even visible from each other, sort of a V-shape. Make sure any midnight potty-visitors are on the bathroom side of the V, as it could be annoying for them to come through.

The beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows and covers. Also plenty of towels and toiletries. Everything was very clean, no bad smells or stains or unidentifiable objects observed. The shower was OK, but the water pressure and temperature seemed kind of variable, and with most of the place empty when we showered it might be really annoying at a busy time. The little fridge was fine for passing through, wish there had been a microwave to reheat my dinner leftovers for breakfast. TV choices were limited, but I don't go to Big Sur to watch TV.

The short walk across the street to the beach was no serious obstacle in January, but I imagine it could be icky in the summer. There is a very poorly marked pedestrian walkway under the bridge about 50 yards north of the lodge entrance. We crossed easily half a dozen times, for a spectacular sunset and in the morning, and had a couple of very nice beach strolls.

I agree with other reviewers that the restaurant is way overpriced. After a look at the menu, we didn't even look in the door. We had dinner at the Sea Chest in Cambria - fabulous - and might have used the 10% discount coupons for breakfast if we didn't have other stuff along.

I will definitely stay here again if my plans include a stop south of Big Sur. There are a couple of places I like in Morro Bay, but this beats them for price and location.

Room Tip: We reserved a two-double room and got a two-queen room for the same price. I originally wanted ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Simeon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Simeon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.