We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“musty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands By The Sea Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands By The Sea Motel to your Saves list
Sands By The Sea Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9355 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Downey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“musty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pre-booked hotel for trip to San Simion. Hotel is old but well maintained on the outside. Room was small, and smelled very musty. The room fan did not work and opening the window did not help get rid of the smell.The room was quiet and had a microwave, small frig, and an old small t.v..The bed was comfy and lots of pillows. Staff was friendly, and helpful. Only place to eat was next door. Price was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was awful, very dated and gloomy. The furnishings were old and rickety and we could not shut one wardrobe door properly, only 2 hangers per wardrobe. The bedspread was a flowery nylon thing! The good part was the man on reception he was very helpful with places to go.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We pre-booked this motel as it seems San Simeon is very busy and pricey. Years ago we stayed in the Motel 6 across the street for $25! This time we paid $109 for one night which I don't think was value for money. The room was large and clean but outdated and nowhere to put anything, only four coat hangers on a rack and no dresser. The bathroom was clean apart from mold in the corner of the bath which was slippy with no hand rails. There was no towel rail and only one double hook. We had a room at the end of the row which did give us a view of the sea and we spent a very pleasant hour sitting on a bench on the cliff top watching the sun go down. We didn't bother with the $3 voucher for breakfast next door. It may seem that I am being picky but I did expect more for the money we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The motel is clan and confortable.
It is near the route 1 but during the night it is really silent. It is a good and affordable stop on the 1.
There is also a small pool available. Parking and breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, NV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to say I was disappointed by our stay here. This is a very outdated hotel. It is the first time in years that I have had an actual room key on a diamond key faub! The 'view' from the back side of the hotel is the back side of the neighboring hotel next door so you cannot see the ocean. Continental breakfast at the restaurant of the hotel next door consisted of a voucher for a pre-packaged danish (like you would buy at Sam's or Wal-Mart) and a cup of juice and coffee or hot chocolate, or you can get a couple of bucks off a breakfast in that restaurant, which is about the only place in town to eat! The upside is that it is only a short walk to the beach, but other than that, I was quite unimpressed. The location of San Simeon is great for a visit to Hearst Castle and the coast along this area is beautiful. If you are on a budget, this hotel might be one of the better options, but I was disappointed to pay more than $100 for mediocre accommodations!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We made a rather late reservation, given that it was a summer Saturday August date, and the desk staff was most accommodating in finding us two rooms. Although we didn't have an ocean view, exactly, it was only a very short walk to a beautiful sunset. There's a restaurant nearby and the motel gives a discount on breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I were traveling down Highway 1.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

After deciding to Leave Yosemite National Park a little early, my husband and I decided to make the drive down the 1 as was highly suggested while in California. Since we hadn't planned a place to stay we just drove and planned on just staying anywhere. That proved to be more difficult as we were visiting during the busiest season, August. Many places were all booked up. While driving through San Simeon, we stopped by a few places, again- booked! But the desk manager at Best Western recommended the Sands as it was the same property owner. It certainly didn't look very appealing, but we were pleasantly surprised. $100 got us a king size bed in a nice clean room with organic soaps! It was perfect. The pool didn't look quite as clean, but if you need a place to sleep comfortably, this is your spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands By The Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands By The Sea Motel

Address: 9355 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands By The Sea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sands By The Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel San Simeon
Sands Motel San Simeon
Sands Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands By The Sea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.