We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can tell someone cares about the property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands By The Sea Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sands By The Sea Motel to your Saves list
Sands By The Sea Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9355 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Westlake Village
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can tell someone cares about the property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sands by the Sea Motel for an entire week. It was clean, quiet, and obviously looked well cared for. The linens and amenities were above average for the price we paid. Everyone we encountered was courteous and professional. Carlos at the front desk was quite charming in his own way. The pool is indoors so even if it was cold outside, the kids could enjoy a swim. There is a fridge and microwave for added convenience. There is a restaurant next door at a place called the Cavalier, and a liquor store right across the road. Overall, we found good value at the Sands and would stay there again when we visit San Simeon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and you can peek at the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    60
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

After unsuccessfully attempting to reserve a room at the Best Western Cavalier, the BW representative suggested the Sands. Turns out both properties are under the same ownership. The Sands is an older property. The rooms are appointed with: small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and small TV. There aren't enough outlets to plug in all of the appliances at one time. There is no hair dryer. There is a baseboard heater and a heat lamp in the bath. Our room appeared to have once had a VCR or DVD player, now an empty hole gapes in the wooden stand above the TV. There is no closet; a single wooden shelf hangs on the wall above a clothes rack, with a folding luggage stand below. We made the mistake of placing a small piece of luggage on the shelf, the bottom of which was literally coated in a thick layer of dust when we retrieved it.

The bed linens are clean, but the bath towels have a funny smell. Shampoo, lotion and bar soaps are provided. Internet service is available.

Our room looks like the photos provided by npphotog from 2009. This hotel is right near the beach and you can utilize the firepits that are lit at the Cavalier next door.

Wish I'd read some reviews before just booking a room here when we couldn't get in at the Cavalier!

Room Tip: There are no ocean views, but the rooms at one end have a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were passing through and decided to stay here because it was dark out. Right when you open the door with key and not a card key. It smelled like cigarettes, it is outdated. It's a big room, small shower, low toilet. The pillows were comfy and the bed. The heater makes crackling sounds when you turn it on, which keeps you up. The pool was great, except it was a bit chilly. The service was great as well, as the location if you had to stay here. I would of tried another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We arrived in the afternoon to find a locked motel. After repeated contacts on a buzzer system by the front door, 40 minutes elapsed before someone came to check us in. No apology was given, and the general demeanor of the owner was that he was busy doing other things and that he was doing us a favor by letting us stay there. The motel was not full, and even though the motel was advertised as having an ocean view, we were given a dingy room overlooking the main road through town. The odor in the room was indescribable so we threw all the windows open even though it was frigid outside. The coffee pot was broken, the heating system didn't work--need I say more. The only saving feature was that the king bed seemed clean although the remainder of the room needed work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

That's what this motel was all about for us. Somewhere to rest and freshen up after a busy day out touring on the coast. No bells, whistles or thrills just a friendly staff and clean room. Breakfast at the hotel next door was average to good. As in my previous review the Mexican down the road is awful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were so looking forward to our stay in San Simeon. Unfortunately we will not be returning ever again!!! The Hotel was terrible, the room was smelly, and cramped, and noisy. I made the reservation months ahead and yet our room was right opposite the storage building-with the noise of the mechanical units coming through our window all night. The restaurant we went to for dinner was terrible, and the gas station we went to charged an exorbitant amount!! The person at the front desk did not tell us that the office was closed in the morning. We wanted to pay cash for our stay, but it had to go on our credit card, the office door was locked in the morning!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived here late at night and was met by a very friendly check in man who made us feel welcome instantly. He even directed us to the lodge across the road for late night food and drinks. We had a great night over there too! The room was huge! The bathroom was big too and had a good strong shower with nice complimentary products.
We stayed in a five star hotel in San Fran before this and sands by the sea was by far the better of the two. Everything was comfortable and we got a sound nights sleep.
Oh, and they have us a coupon for breakfast the next morning! Fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands By The Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands By The Sea Motel

Address: 9355 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands By The Sea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sands By The Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel San Simeon
Sands Motel San Simeon
Sands Hotel San Simeon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands By The Sea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.