We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9065 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for a night at this hotel for our visit to Hearst Castle. Though not many rooms, we were very impressed with the hotel. Rooms were very nice and close to Pacific Ocean. The touch of flowers in front of rooms is refreshing change. Would stay here if we are again in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    142
    76
    13
    15
See reviews for
75
151
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our drive down from San Francisco to San Diego. It was really just a place to sleep and for my husband to recover from the arduous drive through Big Sur - we didn't even visit Hearst Castle.

Room was spacious and clean. I booked through 'get a room' site and included a message requesting a crib for our 14-month-old. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were told they only offered camp beds. Wish they had told us this when we booked and could still have made other arrangements!

Free continental breakfast is just ok but was enough to fuel us up for the road and the DIY waffles were a novelty for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I picked this place because reviews claimed it was clean. They were right! It's not a resort but it was a perfect stop after driving down the coast and needing a place to sleep before our big day at the Castle. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast is nothing special, but hey at least they have it...cereals, toast, waffles, coffee, juice, and a few more items. I did like eating outside and feeling the ocean breeze. We did a spontaneous evening close by in Cambria on Main Street. We ate at JBJ Pizza and managed to catch a play at the playhouse just across the street, which entertained my teen girls, hubby and I and even grandma!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A nice hotel, but nothing exciting. It was just a place to stay on the way from Santa Barbara to Monterey.
Not much to and limited places to eat, but the view was spectacular!
Not much else to say about the place. They provided a free breakfast, but I didn't use this service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Second floor had a good view. Location is great. Food was okay for breakfast. All together a good value. We had one king and one queen bed. Room was spacious. Pool was closed for maintenance though but we did not need it. Staff was just so so. She could have been friendlier. Noise was a little problem as we were the room above the office and breakfast area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

for being in the middle of nowhere and compared to the places farther up north on the highway this place was decently priced. roughly about 80 i believe is what we spent. we are on a bit of a tight budget and not putting in any reservations with the limitations of available hotels in the area there, we were quite fortunate to be able to get a place with a good rate.
the room was nice. not anything fancy but clean and comfortable. had a good array of channels on the tv. its right by the ocean also but you don't really have a good view. you can however open the window and hear the waves crashing as well as hear sea lions making their noises. it was nice to hear waking up.
restaurant is right across the road. went there for dinner and breakfast. there's also a long stretch of beach full of elephant whales not but a couple of miles from there.
I recommend this place to anyone. there really isn't anything to complain about. if you are looking for some place right on the coast with a beach though than this isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I agree with the reviews that the walls seemed thin but it didn't really bother me. We could open the window to hear the waves crashing on the beach and the next morning I REALLY LOVED listening to seals or sea lions making noise. I slept very well in our comfy, clean and well decorated room. The room was far from basic. It has a microwave, fridge and a nice big TV with cable. The bed was a huge king size and cozy. Continental breakfast looked sufficient but we went across the road for a yummy little breakfast at Sunset Grill.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Address: 9065 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.