We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling hot, hot, hot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9065 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Feeling hot, hot, hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had spent the afternoon at the Hearst Castle, reveling in the rich opulence of the media magnate’s mansion. Perhaps it was a mistake to go directly from there to our hotel, the Sea Breeze Inn without stopping somewhere in between to cleanse our palate, as it were. But since the inn is less than 5 miles away, however, there wasn’t much to divert our attention from going there to get checked in.

The front desk attendant was courteous and told us all the essential information we needed to know. I went to the car and grabbed some of our things and headed up the stairs to our room.
We opened the door to the room and the first thing I noticed was how warm and stuffy it felt. I went to go over to turn the air conditioner on only to find that there was none. The room only came with a heater, and there was plenty of that already. As I retreated from the room to go back to the car to get the rest of our things, I passed a room that the occupant had left the door wide open in hopes of getting some cross ventilation. This seemed like a good idea, though the prospect of leaving it that way all night long seemed to pose a slight security risk. The one item I would add to these rooms would be a fan that could offer some relief to the heat.

The room we had, a king room, was fine outside of the room temperature. Everything was very clean and in a fine state of repair, and I have no doubt that had I been insane enough to turn on the heat, that it would have worked without fail. There was also a mini-fridge and a microwave oven (speakin’ of ovens, did I mention it was hot like an oven in the room?!), in addition to the ironing board and iron (which can get quite hot, too). The Wi-Fi worked just fine for us, too.

The continental breakfast was quite simple (cold cereal, toast, muffins, juice, and coffee), but it was at least something to get the day started and tide us over until lunchtime. There are a couple tables outside, but I didn’t see much seating inside, so you might find yourself having to dine in the warmth of your room.

I know I’ve made a bit of sport about the room temperature, but overall, I would have to say that this is a very decent place to stay. The prices were much more reasonable than some of the other places in the near vicinity. You might say it’s the hottest deal in San Simeon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    124
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
63
127
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and were very impressed. The staff was great, the rooms were comfortable & clean, and the view was incredible. Location was great. We would definitely look at this motel the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the outside the motel is'nt very attractive, but the inside is a suprise. Nice spacious and totally renovated room with a nice kingsize bed. The room and bathroom are very clean, but the towels are a bit thin. From your room you can watch the sunset!. In the room you have TV, coffee/tea making and a fridge. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear the neighbors, but luckily we had quit ones! Check-inn was quick, breakfast was very simple (better take it somewhere else). The motel is at the end off a strip with only motels/hotels but in easy distance from the few shops and restaurants. We stayed in room #124 at the 2nd floor. Because of the thin walls it's maybe better If you ask for a room at the corner!!
This motel is a very good deal for the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is great, affordable, and comfortable! We had a view of the ocean, the king sized bed was really comfortable, and the room itself was spacious and very clean. They offer free wifi, except it was down the weekend we were there, but it was ok because we really didn't need it. Our room had a mini fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, an iron with ironing board, and a large flat screen tv with basic cable. We definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here with my cousin on our way to the Hearst castle last March 2011. The place has a nice location. We were on the 2nd floor so coming out from our room, we're greated by the view of the sea. Good place for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Less than $80.00 got us a surprisingly comfortable king size bed after a long drive from Carmel. Spent about 10 hours there but slept well. Typical tired old cheap hotel room with a bed spread you wouldn't want to shine a black light on so once we tossed it aside we were surprised to find a comfortable bed. The rest was forgettable but it did its job of providing us a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here on a trip up the coast and stopped here to see Hearst Castle (5 minutes away). Not much to do in the area but enjoy each others company. Really nice, clean, big room. Free parking, free wifi, free breakfast and great free view of the ocean, and sleeping to the sound of the surf. Walked down to the beach and had a great time. People complain about the free breakfast of cereal, pastries and juice but it was the same as the buffet at our next 2 hotels, one was 175$ a night and the other was 400$ a night. Sea Breeze was a real bargain, Great staff and they let us check in early. We'll be back, soon I hope.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Address: 9065 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.