We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriot Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Ramon Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Ramon Marriott to your Saves list
San Ramon Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Bishop Drive, San Ramon, CA 94583   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outlet Shopping Package
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not up to Marriot Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am writing this review having stayed at other Marriott hotels before. The expectation the brand creates is just not fulfilled at the San Ramon Marriott.

The exterior of the hotel and the public areas are maintained to a good standard, however the issues begin with the rooms, facilities and customer service.

The rooms were dated and much smaller than I expected for CA and it would have been nice to have a mirror outside the bathroom for makeup etc.

Internet was charged for in the rooms. I have stayed in very basic hotels that offer this for free. There was no kettle in the room and we were charged for hot water !!!
The most surprising however was that there was no safe in the room. I presumed I had been unlucky so called the reception desk to check but they informed me none of the rooms had safes.

The reception staff didn't seem to know much about the area and to top it all off gave us incorrect information: We asked if there was a Nordstroms close by, the person on reception after supposedly checking online informed us that we had to go into San Francisco city to get to the closest one. Luckily however another guest was kind enough to let me know that there was a Nordstroms in the Stoneridge mall only a 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. The hotel has recently been renovated and our guest rooms are up to the high standards of most of our guests. The hotel does not charge any guest for hot water to make tea. However if you were to call our room service department and ask for tea to be brought to your room there would be a charge. I apologize if there was a miscommunication with regards to your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
29
23
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

When you book a Marriott hotel you expect a certain level of service and facilities. Unfortunately neither of these was present.

When booking we had requested a room with two double beds. We also had requested a connecting room with our friends. Upon check-in we were told an interconnecting room was not available. When we went up to our room we found the room had only one bed. We went back down to the reception to complain they changed our to a room to one which had two double beds and was interconnecting to our friends rooms (which was not available 10mins before?). The staff could have saved us and themselves a lot of trouble.

We were disappointed to find that none of the rooms had a safe (even very basic hotels have this facility) and no kettle to make a cup of tea! If you wanted to RENT a kettle it would cost 4 dollars a day! No scales to weigh you luggage before you flight.

The Hotel staff were very polite and courteous, but not very knowledgeable about the local area.

The standard of the rooms was fine and the housekeeping was good, what you would expect from a Marriott. But I think they were preparing early for Halloween this year as there were some cobwebs in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I will personally look into your issues with weighing your luggage and the tea pot. We have a shipping scale available that could have been used for your luggage and hot water can be made using our in-room coffee makers requested through room service. Due to a limited number of rooms with two double beds, we are sometimes challenged with not being able to meet all guest requests for this bed type. We do our best to accommodate all special requests. In the future you may want to contact the hotel prior to your arrival to re-confirm the request as way of highlighting the necessity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for four nights for a wedding. Looked promising from the outside and the entrance lobby had a certain grandeur to it but that’s where it ends.

The rooms were a bit dated and beds uncomfortable, not that I wanted to spend all day in bed!!!!

Our room had well matured cob-webs riddled with thick dust. There was no kettle in the room (only a coffee machine) which is not great if you want to drink tea. When asked for hot water, they had the audacity to charge us $1!!!

The iron was rubbish as was the ironing board that was riddled with bumps and holes which made a 'lovely' pattern on my crisp black shirt. There was no room service after 11pm which is quite frankly bizarre in the 24hr culture we live in! Finally, they didn’t have a safe – something that even the most basic of hotels have!

I'm not one to usually complain but I thought it only right to let you all know what we experienced. To put the icing on the cake, they managed to charge my sister's credit card with the full amount due even though we settled the bill by cash. Either they have incompetent staff or their computer system, like the hotel, is very dated!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Your comments are very important to the team here at the San Ramon Marriott. Thanks you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve to better meet your expectations. Although the room décor may not have met your needs, we typically receive comments about how up to date the rooms and corridors look. The hotel is continually investing money in the physical product so that it looks modern and fresh. I apologize that it did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wow, really disappointed in the room service experience. The egg white frittata was horrible - the menu says "Egg White Frittata, turkey sausage, avocado, tomatoes" - the frittata did not come with turkey sausage, avocado or tomatoes but instead had small mushrooms and spinach. The frittata was also extremely greasy. Under the frittata on the plate was a solid tablespoon of cooking oil / grease. Someone ordering the egg white frittata is obviously concerned about the health aspects of the meal and the grease is a real turn off.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond about your room service experience. I have brought this matter to the attention of our chef. Your point is well taken and the quality should have been far better. Generally, we get very positive feedback regarding our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights for a conference. The lobby is warm and inviting, the room had a king bed and was well appointed with a rolling desk chair and a comfortable chair as well. We ate in the restaraunt twice and service was efficeint, friendly and quick. Banquet service and food were also great. The front desk people were most helpful and everyone, maids, front desk, waitresses welcomed you. The room was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer such positive feedback. I am delighted that your experience at the San Ramon Marriott was so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Everything you have come to expect from a full service Marriott like concierge floor amenities, complimentary faxes and business center, yet PET FRIENDLY!!!
Also with exceptional weekend rates since it is a business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge floor on a weekend because they probably will give it to you since it is a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed there two days for a Rose Convention and everything was excellent. The front desk was very helpfull. The room was clean and very confortable. It was quiet and we slept well. My only disappointment was having to pay for internet connection in our room. But this seems to be the rule with higher quality hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The team at the hotel really enjoyed hosting your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ramon Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ramon Marriott

Address: 2600 Bishop Drive, San Ramon, CA 94583
Location: United States > California > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ramon Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Ramon Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ramon Marriott Hotel San Ramon
Marriott San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ramon Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.