We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Ramon Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Ramon Marriott to your Saves list
San Ramon Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Bishop Drive, San Ramon, CA 94583   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

As part of a company relocation, I arrived with my family at the hotel after a 7 hour flight and a taxi ride from SFO at about 10:30PM. I had specifically booked a room with 2 queen beds. The Desk clerk looked at us, and said..so you are confirmed for a king size bed. I said the four of us were not looking for a king size bed. We had booked two queens. He says, sorry..sometimes the website makes it seem you have a queen bed, when you do not. Unfortunately I did not have a car or I would have gone to a hilton. I asked the person at the front desk what my options were. He said, we can give you an air mattress to sleep on. I told him .. I was not at his hotel to sleep on an air mattress. After saying that I had booked a double room and wanted one, then they gave me an additional room at half price. I took it for the time being because I needed to move forward. However, I feel it is very strange for a hotel to say we may or may not give you a double bed on arrival when my reservation was for a double bed room.

I've traveled for many years and stayed at many many hotels. Mostly a hilton fan. I have never encountered this issue. I regret my brief foray into the world of Marriott. Back to Hilton for good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. It can be very frustrating to not have your desired room type upon arrival. Unfortunately on the weekend that you stayed with us we had a number of families in the hotel for a soccer tournament, which required all rooms with two beds. Generally the bed type noted in a reservation is only a request once the inventory for that type of room is fully committed. We try to meet each and every guest’s request but in your case we were unable to do so. Again, I apologize and regret that your stay was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here recently for a wedding and it met our needs. The rooms were pretty good, but double beds are just too small. They also didn't have our room ready when we arrived so they gave us a room that had just been carpet cleaned (read: wet carpets). Other than that, though, the bar was good, as was the service staff. Did the trick and reasonably priced for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phaestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about the hotel. We have an aggressive cleaning and maintenance program at hotel that includes carpet cleaning. The carpets should be completely dry before checking any guest into the room. I apologize that this was not the case for you. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again when you are in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just stayed at the Marriott for 3 nights for a wedding. They got a pretty good deal for their guests and we were happy with our stay. Nice and clean hotel, and good space in the rooms. We also had a view to the pool - very nice! The pool-area was nice, but they had few sunbeds. Very strange that they had so many charis, but only about 12 sunbeds. Most people I know would like a sunbed while being by the pool. The free wifi in the lobby that worked well. We were hoping for free wi-fi also in the rooms but they didn't have it - most US hotels we've stayed at has this. Breakfast was good. 20 dollars for the buffet. We had a very nice server both days we had breakfast there. And also about 12 dollars pr day for self-park. So even though we got a nice price for the room, we had to pay a little too much for the other stuff for me to give this hotel any better rating. Loved the express check-out! A great Whole Food and Target next to the hotel! So you could probably get a much cheaper meal there if you wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the feedback and will look into increasing the number of lounge chairs around the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjtraveler2008
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice hotel, clean & quiet. We had a room on the first floor and we were only staying for one night for a wedding. Not much around but they did have a shuttle to the nearby golf course where they dropped us off and picked us up afterwards so that was nice. The pool was seemingly under construction but all in all no complaints and no huge over the top amazing experiences either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am glad to hear that our shuttle service to and from the wedding you were attending worked out fro you. Your other comments about the hotel are appreciated. Although I am confused about the "construction" comment about the pool. Our pool is open and there has not been any notable projects going on. However, you may have been with us the weekend we were enhancing our patio area by installing a fire pit. I apologize if this created any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Only stayed here for one night. Initially I was really impressed with the lobby. It was beautifully decorated and spacious. The man at the check-in desk seemed incredibly rushed and distracted but it appeared there were several wedding parties staying in the hotel so it's understandable.
The room was pretty average though it did have a cute little balcony that was nice to step out onto in the morning. It wasn't big enough for a chair though, just standing room for two.
I was pretty disappointed in the bed however. It was quite hard and felt like it was made of stiff cardboard. My back certainly felt it in the morning.
All in all not a bad hotel for the money by any means, but I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zombiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your bed. We get a variety of comments regarding our beds which are generally positive. However, I apologize that the bed was not comfortable for you and you did not awaken well rested. Hopefully, you will considering staying with us again should your travels bring you back to San Ramon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent a quiet weekend there with my wife recently. Really liked the location, just off the freeway, next door to shopping center with a few food options, and in a very nice area. Also the pool area looked nice though we didn't go in as it was a bit cold that weekend in May. Tons to do within 20 minutes be it shopping in Walnut Creek, hiking Diablo, etc.... The front desk staff was friendly, room service quick, bar was nice, and the restaurant was good for Sunday brunch. Like a lot of Marriotts it's a little tired on the edges. Just little things like ragged carpet here or there, chipped furniture, and small bathroom. If you are used to standard full service Marriotts then this will be right in line for you. I am platinum with Marriott and from what I have seen this is a very typical property. Again, not quite 4 stars to me but certainly above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you for taking the time to review the San Ramon Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice staff... Beautiful view, far from malls... But there's a target and a few restaurantes right beside... I really love it!! Large rooms, and the maid was so kind, she woke us up once but, not a problem, she put our teddy bears on the bed, like, someday playing, then hugging.. It was a simple thing that made us smile. It was also quiet and comfortable, great for relaxing. I'd get back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -BiancaOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramongm, General Manager at San Ramon Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our team is encouraged to do the"little things" to exceeed our guests' expectations. I'm delighted that this was the case for your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Ramon
HYATT house San Ramon
#1 of 8 in San Ramon
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Ramon
Residence Inn San Ramon
#3 of 8 in San Ramon
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danville Sycamore Inn
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Ramon - Bishop Ranch - West
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Ramon - Bishop Ranch - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ramon Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ramon Marriott

Address: 2600 Bishop Drive, San Ramon, CA 94583
Location: United States > California > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ramon Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your San Ramon Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ramon Marriott Hotel San Ramon
Marriott San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing