We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor sleeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18090 San Ramon Valley Blvd, San Ramon, CA 94583   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in San Ramon
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, poor sleeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This hotel had friendly check-in service and all the employees were smiling. There are no snack vending machines because there's a little store called "The Market" in the lobby with overpriced snacks. The continental breakfast is NOT free - the cheapest thing on the menu was $8 french toast.

Though the hotel is esthetically pleasing, the walls were so thin, I could hear the conversation of the people in the room next to me. Though this isn't the hotel's fault, we happened to be staying on the same floor with a high school lacrosse team who played in the hallways throughout the night, slamming doors and yelling down the halls. All this to say, you can hear everything in the halls, even after we placed a towel at the base of the door. It would be fine if you are coming just for a vacation, but we were miserable waking up early every morning.

The pillows were the best thing about the hotel! The bed is pretty firm. After our room was cleaned, the maid forgot to take out our trashcan liners.

If you're going for vacation, it would be fine. If you're going for business and really need your sleep to catch an early flight, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room facing San Ramon Valley Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
16
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Been visiting this particular Marriott Courtyard for 20+ years and never a complaint.

The room has the typical Marriott Courtyard decor with blue carpet, desk, free wifi in the room. One of the few Courtyard with a mini-fridge in the room.

Was there for a short stay over night. The note in the room stated the renovation was beginning the week of Feb 14, 2011. The lobby is closed and the check in was on the south side of the hotel. Front portion of the hotel was marked off. Signs pointing to the restaurant (unable to check as we left early in the morning). Computers for printing boarding passes and small retail snack store relocated to the temporary front desk area. Free parking.

Hotel is located on Hopyard which is right off of the freeway. Restaurants within walking distance and nearby mall.

Overall this Courtyard met my needs and look forward to renovation planned. Please check with hotel staff before booking as the renovation did not begin when we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Stayed from Jul 12-16 during Semicon West. Room is very clean with a nice fresh fragrance. The hotel has not 1 but 2 spacious well-maintained elevators. Hot shower came on almost immediately. My room faced the front of the hotel so I did not have the noise problem from the freeway which other travelers complained about. Hotel staff are very friendly. Free internet, use of printer, coffee and water a big plus. Only thing the staff had a little problem with safe deposit box at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laporte, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I spent only one night in one of the rooms on the west side overlooking the freeway. It was a bit noisy so I had to close the windows at night. Room privacy was good and the continental breakfast was very good (extra cost). Location is near some very nice restaurants an the convention center was only a couple of miles away. No need to drive the freeway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for three days and it was a wonderful experience, we were visiting San Francisco and the hotel is not that far from San Francisco, it´s a nice drive to San Francisco, the hotel has free internet and parking.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Nice service, kind personel, free internet in the lobby normal prices and quite good food. Expencive breakfast though, and not recomended for that price. Stayed there for five nights,

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Three of us stayed here in 2 rooms for 1 night while visiting relatives in nearby Pleasanton. We booked this through Priceline at a very good rate.

Our requests for 1 double-bedded room plus 1 king room were honored. The King room has a pull-out sofa plus a balcony. Both rooms face the front of the hotel - definitely MORE desirable than the back which faces the Interstate highway.

The rooms are clean, and free wired internet is available in room. Decor is a bit dated but otherwise fine.

We asked about the breakfast buffet at the front desk, but the staff instead suggested us go to Marie Calendar's for breakfast which is a lot cheaper. It is just next to the hotel, about a 1-min walk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon

Address: 18090 San Ramon Valley Blvd, San Ramon, CA 94583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Ramon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Ramon Hotel San Ramon
Courtyard San Ramon
San Ramon Courtyard
San Ramon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.