We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Door

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brass Door
2154 San Ramon Valley Blvd, San Ramon, CA 94583-1277
(925) 837-2501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 138 Restaurants in San Ramon
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
San Ramon
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The only GOOD restaurant in all of San Ramon and Dublin I'm afraid...It's got basic food for a great price and the quality IS THERE. Beats any of "The Outback's" ANY day of the week in all respects to quality, cooking and serving of steaks and primerib and has a nice selection of fresh (not farmed) fish. You should be warned Friday and Saturday nights are PACKED, as with most good restaurants. Pay's to make a reservation. Is very noisy after 6 p.m.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old people...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ok so the food here is good. Your typical american steak house. Came with a group of 10 people and everyone liked their food, so I would say everything is pretty much safe to order. THIS PLACE is for OLD people haha. The reason I say this is that we were the ONLY people in the restaurant under the age of 70. When we walked in everyone just stared at us like we were aliens. Service was great and even they said it was nice to see younger people here. If you don't mind old people this place is not a bad spot to check out!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hometown Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here several times, it seems like home. The food is very good and served quickly. The prime rib is a specialty and worth the price. The servers tend to talk too much to everyone, but this is the homey touch. 70's decor also brings back childhood memories. This is a good local establishment that is fine for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib and Halibut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Local restaurant that has improved over the years. I now visit at least twice per month. Nice size
menu but my two favorites are the prime rib and the halibut dinners. You can also save some calories by ordering the "senior" portion. Cocktails are also good..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Classic style restaurant in San Ramon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've dined here several times, and each time we have enjoyed our meal and service. They have many choices, mainly focused on steaks, but generally you can find something to fit your mood.

The staff is friendly and attentive. They try hard to take care of your requests, and often do that extra bit that you just don't find much anymore.

Great place for a intimate dinner, family or large group.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Door also viewed

 

Been to Brass Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.