We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Cuisine

Sakura Japanese Cuisine
3151 Crow Canyon Pl Ste C, San Ramon, CA 94583-1359
(925) 277-1628
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 123 Restaurants in San Ramon
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Japanese in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Been going to Sakura for many years. The owners and staff always welcome us like family and are very attentive. The menu is varied and very good and the Sushi and Sashimi is out of this world. Small, family run establishments like this are hard to find, like precious gems! I highly recommend Sakura

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food not fresh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ordered salmon and it must have been frozen. It was not fresh.
It was not flaky. It was hard and had no taste.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Plate Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reasonable Japanese food for lunch? Yes! Sakura offers lovely combo plates letting you choose two entrees (including 2 sushi options), rice, salad and soup. If you're still hungry (really?), you can order great ala carte sushi including unique rolls. The place is quiet, tucked away in a large mall, but you lose the mall feeling inside. The people running this place really care about it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“sorely disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My friend and i stopped by for lunch last week; my venue selection was as a change from old standby favorities. boy, i wish i had stayed with my instincts. My sushi fish was not fresh at all and I left the remaining pieces on the place. Fish actually tasted bad; a new low for me. Sushi rice very ordinary with out flavor. Service was friiendly. My friend was not satisfied either and we agreed we would not return. there are other nearby options clearly superior.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varennes, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing traditionnal japanese cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's start with a nice welcoming staff all dressed in traditionnal japanese clothes. Then we ordered real japanese beer that came with cool glass in a bowl to keep if cold! We were then faced to a large menu that got me really confused. Some expert sushi colleagues just knew what to order. An amazing plate in a form of a boat was then brought with just to much to eat! Fish was fresh and really teasty. Amazing crew that just looks so happy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.