We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Northgate Drive, San Rafael, CA 94903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in San Rafael
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here one night on a business trip. We have mixed feelings on this property. I'm sure that I expected more because of the name. They were very nice at the front desk upon arrival and let us check in early. We appreciated that as we had a 12 hour workday ahead of us. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was good and the bedding was comfortable. When we came back after working all day there was no soap, shampoo, or conditioner. I did not feel like waiting to get some or chase some down so luckily I had some packed. We went to have breakfast the next morning and they have a buffet or you can order off the menu. We noticed people getting plates full of food and to go boxes. So we had ordered off the menu after finally getting someone to take our order. We had to wait and almost not get to eat as it took so long to get our food. I assume it is because they kept replacing the food on the buffet. Overall, we were very disappointed in our stay here and will not be back.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to the freeway. Rooms on the inside are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your experiences. We are sorry to hear about the housekeeping replenishment and restaurant service. We have identified the associates involved and have used this information to do some extensive service training for all departments. If you return to the area consider giving us another try as we are always improving our service and our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    123
    81
    45
    28
See reviews for
102
88
35
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for about ten days. Trip kept getting extended beyond my original four days.

Front desk staff very friendly and very helpful. They had to move my room as I had to extend the stay and did their best to accommodate. Had constant room service and food was good. One thing though tip is automatically added to bill which is fine but each and every person pointed out when I signed the receipt that their is a tip line, I always add a bit more but please don't put me on the spot. Ended up just picking food up from restaurant after a certain point. Hotel is clean, people friendly and location is great. My room was in a tower that had work being done so no elevator but staff told me so you can't expect any more than that, work needs to be done. Of all the hotels I stay when I come to visit this seems to be the best for the best price.

My only complaint is I left a $40 water bottle on the dresser when I left and called three times to see if it was handed in leaving a detailed description and contact information. Each time the front desk transferred me to someone where I left my message to never hear back. Sort of ruins a good stay when you feel like they got your money band your gone so why bother with service standards

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words following your stay with your family. We like to think of our property as a resort in Marin County. The location is ideal. I am sorry to hear about the sports bottle being lost. We will contact you directly to replace the item for you right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. Right on the 101 freeway and comfortable enough. Room was clean and looked to be in good shape. Did find that one of the dresser drawers wouldn't stay closed. Not sure if it was because the floor was sloping slightly or what, reaching to call that a complaint though. Had a small snafu one day where housekeeping didn't show up but they provided towel replacement and we were able to manage the slight inconvenience. Front desk staff is friendly as are all hotel personnel we encountered. It's not the Four Seasons, but generally a comfortable bed in this pleasant bay area community.

NOTE: Hotel does offer 250 points/day if you opt NOT to have housekeeping tend your room. Just leave a little card on the door (or on the bed). Also, upon check-in you may spin a wheel at the check-in counter for bonus SPG points - up to 500 I think. A nice little perk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent stay. We always enjoy having conference attendees stay with us on business or pleasure. We do have a GREEN program available if the guest chooses points over housekeeping refresh. We are all doing our best to conserve resources. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ronesh Sharma at checkin made us feel special from the moment we walked in the door.
Everybody was very friendly & accommodating. Nice, clean, larger than usual room.
Refrigerator was not working when we walked in but was fixed within 10 min after reporting it. Very comfortable & attractive pool area.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for the complimentary review. Your feedback will be shared with all of our front desk team and Ronesh will be recognized for a job well done. It will be our pleasure to serve you anytime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We wound up staying here for two nights unexpectedly, and it was just what we were looking for. The hotel was quiet and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the food was decent. We didn't make use of the pool, unfortunately.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for joining us even though your visit was quick. We hope that your memories were pleasant and you will remember to come see us again if you visit the Marin area again. Hopefully next time you will have time to enjoy the pool and our comfy new furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Helpful staff. Clean room. Comfy beds. No microwave? No refrigerator? Breakfast was good, but overpriced. Afraid to check dinner prices.
Convenient to Muir Woods, wine country, ferry to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback to our team. We are proud to say that we have begun our renovation. Part of the plans is to purchase a refrigerator and microwave for each room. We have added over 100 this past year. When visiting us please feel free to request a refrigerator and/or a microwave on you reservation. We will place one in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito/Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

lovely room. Killer pool lounge area. Nice firepit. Manager was terrific. They made me feel like a very valued guest. I would definitely stay here again. Good location across the street from the mall, easy highway access. Nice restaurant in house as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments regarding our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and you enjoying our all new pool furnishings. Remember the welcome reception on Friday evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Address: 1010 Northgate Drive, San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge and centrally located in the scenic north coast and renowned hills of Marin County. Close to Sonoma, and Napa wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Reservation Counter so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
4 Points By Sheraton San Rafael
Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points San Rafael
San Rafael Sheraton
San Rafael Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.