We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst nights I have ever had” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Marin from just $189
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Worst nights I have ever had”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying at the Embassy Suites, you would expect a suite. I had a conference table in the "suite" and the water pump noise all night. Beautiful waterfall and fish, but I would rather have a good nights' sleep. I tried to change rooms, but I was told they over booked at they didn't have another room. So, I said I would cancel my second night, they said I still had to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    202
    138
    61
    25
See reviews for
239
140
31
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first stay here was in 1998 and frankly, not much has changed ever since - it's an OK facility that does need some TLC aka upgrading - the rooms are dated and you can not only feel, but see that a lot of people are coming through this hotel - location is convenient

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed just one night and the room was booked on Hilton Honors points. We arrived 9.30'ish having spent quite a while trying to find it, so pay close attention to the driving instructions. I knew as soon as we walked through the front door that this property was in need of updating, there is a very large but in my opinion quite faded mural on the wall behind reception. I was quite disappointed with the room, it was large enough but both the décor and the furniture and carpet had seen better days. We did expect better for Embassy Suites. We didn't have breakfast so cant comment on the food. We wouldn't book this particular property again unless it gets a renovation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Embassy to set us up for a trip to Muir Woods the next morning. It was a great decision. We booked the king bed executive suite which came with breakfast and wi-if. I was able to shut the door to the bedroom the next morning and get some work done while my wife got some additional sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was spotless. The breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room smelled like cigarrettes, although it was a non-smoking room. Counted 12 cigarrete butts outside the bedroom's window. Complained to the front desk, they said they could do nothing as the hotel was completely sold out. Requested housekeeping to at least put some air freshener, they said they would send them. Called 3 times, they never came. After our first night we checked out and headed to S.F. instead. Very unhappy as we normally stay in Embassy Suites wherever we go. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been staying here on and off for years but it's time for a furnishing update. Rooms dark and varnish is peeling off wood trip in the bath. Just feeling old.
Despite that the staff is still very friendly and helpful and it's nice to see management walking around.
At a room rate with tax of $200/night charging $9 for wifi is sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and that you appreciated all the hotels amenities and comforts. However, please accept my sincerely apologies for Wi-Fi issue you noted. We look forward in being of service during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have come here a few times to just getaway , a "staycation".Service is always excellent. the rooms are large and comfortable and it is an overall great value with the evening reception and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and look forward in being of service during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Address: 101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.