We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Marin from just $189
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Embassy Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Annoyance:

When I reserved the room, the online system said my internet access was included. I booked an executive room.

The manager gave me a hard time when I pointed this out to him.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — annoying manager
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    202
    138
    61
    25
See reviews for
240
140
31
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We booked this hotel because we planned to spend some time on the coast and then head to Oakland for an A's game. We were interested in staying in San Francisco, but the room rates and parking fees were too far out of our budget for our quick visit to the Bay Area. Because we were there during the middle of the week, the guests were a mix of business and recreational. Our room was clean and comfortable. The managers reception from 5:30 - 7:30 include very light snacks, sodas and adult beverages. It was nice to relax in the beautiful atrium by the waterfall and koi ponds and drink free cocktails! We asked the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations and they were very helpful. Breakfast was a good, cooked to order meal. The pool was salt water so the room didn't smell of chlorine. The workout room was clean and ample. We will definitely return to this hotel when we travel in the Bay area again.

  • Liked — breakfast, spacious two room suite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights on an extended trip to California. We chose it because it was centrally located to quite a few sights north of San Francisco, it was reasonably priced, and an Embassy Suites (which is always a bonus!)

This was a nice hotel--everything you would expect from an Embassy Suites including the nice cooked to order free breakfast and afternoon manager's reception. Clean rooms, comfy beds, nice kitchenette. I like this Embassy Suites especially because the bedroom and living area were separated by an actual hallway which gave it a lot of privacy. The bathroom was large and very clean/new.

I didn't like the openness of the inside of the hotel. The rooms are all off balconies/catwalk type halls that are all open to the lobby. It can be a little loud, and beware if you are afraid of heights.

The hotel is right off of the highway. There isn't much to see right around the hotel and you definitely need a car. But it is centrally located to a lot of great locations. It is a 1/2 hour drive from Sonoma (45 from Napa), 10 minutes or so from Sausalito, 45 minutes from Muir Woods and Stinson Beach. It was also reasonably priced compared to other hotels. We never actually saw downtown San Rafael, so I can't comment on it.

  • Liked — Suite, clean, central location
  • Disliked — Open hallways, smell of water fountain/fish
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed in room 242 in late July 2008. Like many Embassy Suites, there is an open atrium surrounded by balconies on which the rooms open out onto. Our room, facing south, had a nice view of the Marin Civic Center, designed by the famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

As usual, the breakfast buffet was generous and varied, and included in the price of our stay. The indoor pool and hot tub were in good working order. Best of all was a waterfall feature in the atrium, and a curving pond stocked with friendly Japanese Koi fish. My kids, who slept on the sofa bed near the door, said they could hear the waterfall at night, and they loved it. I think the waterfall is an asset, because it could help drown out the noise made by anyone sitting at the tables in the atrium in the evening.

All the staff, from the front desk person, to the breakfast servers, to the maids, were courteous and helpful.

My only problem was with the flat screen TV in the bedroom. It is plugged into a noisy converter box that provides the hotel info feed, and it hums loudly even with the TV off. The armoire it sits in seems to amplify the noise. If this bothers you, simply rotate the TV screen slightly, reach back behind and unplug the power cord from the outlet, and the noise will stop so you can sleep. The TV won't work then, so be sure to plug it back in before you leave.

Although expensive ($239.00 per night), it was a clean, safe, and fun environment for our family to relax in.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, generous buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy TV converter box (just unplug if it bothers you!)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

My family (husband and kids aged 5 & 8) stayed here for two nights in June. We used it as a place to stay while we went to Pt. Reyes Seashore and also San Francisco. The hotels closer to San Francisco were way too expensive and overbooked so that is why we originally chose this location.

We were very happy with this hotel. The interior courtyard is a very pleasing area. There is a waterfall with fish in the indoor pond area. The children loved the fish which seemed very friendly.

In the evenings, there is a Manager's reception. We enjoyed the free drinks, which I believe could of been almost any drink. My husband enjoyed some beer whereas I had some wine and a rum and coke. I saw many different types of drinks being consumed by other patrons. There is fresh popcorn as well. Light snacks were served. One night it was chips, dip, and tortillas. The seond night we had tortillas, salsa, and goldfish.
There are nice tables around the courtyard to enjoy your snacks but on a weekend night, the tables fill up quickly.

The front desk was nice, and helpful.

The indoor pool was a plus, but on Saturday night it was swamped with kids diving and jumping. My children who are smaller were not comfortable swimming with the roudy children and got out immediately. On our second night, which was a Sunday, the pool was quieter and the girls were able to use it. The chlorine smell was strong though.

As for our room, we had a king bed suite with a pull out sofa sleeper that the children slept on. There were two large flat screen tvs, a nice desk area. The minibar area was large and ample space. There is a fridge. The bedroom was comfy and the bed had 4 nice pillows on it. The extra bedding for the sleeper sofa was nicely packaged in a bag in the closet. The room in general was very clean and we heard no noise from our neighbors.

In the morning, there is a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Numerous choices of juices are available. There is a specialty coffee maker which makes about 10 different drinks including hot cocoa. Food consisted of fruits, muffins, scones, bagels and toast, oatmeal, and cereals. Cooked breakfast could be pretty much anything from french toast or pancakes or omeletes/eggs. Breakfast meats were also available. The breakfast alone was well worth the price of this hotel.

When going into San Francisco, we took the Larkspur ferry and it was a nice experience as we got to enjoy the city views without having to drive in the traffic.

  • Liked — Breakfast and Manager's Reception. Also price was reasonable.
  • Disliked — Pool - unsupervised kids were very roudy.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

A family of 4, we stayed here for 2 nights. We like the property and enjoy the complimentary cook-to-order breakfast very much.

I stayed at other Embassy Suite before. However, I can't recall the indoor landscape as nice as this one. It is a man-made water fall with 2 ponds with big fish. It is very nice walking around and look at the atrium from above.

The line was long for breakfast for a while so you got to be patient. If you don't want to wait, there are plenty of food around, e.g. egg, sausage, bacon, oatmeals. Embassy Suite is famous for its breakfast and not your typicaly complimentary continental breakfast.

It is close to wine country and Muir Wood. I find this much better value than other hotels.

  • Liked — room and breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

I often stay at Embassy Suites - by choice. They are consistency quiet, comfortable, and I love the happy hour and hot made-to-order breakfast. This ES had a better lobby than most (see the pic). The lobby had a turn in it and had a color scheme and landscaping that were striking. A number of the ES I have stayed in had a chlorine odor in the lobby area - this one did not - a plus. The room was as I expected - roomy and a wonderfully comfortable bed. For 2008 a bonus - wide screen LCD TVs. Though the TVs were not carrying high definition shows that I could find, so a little wasted, but still welcome.
Happy hour had some better beers (a wheat beer and ale) than most ES. But this one lacked the variety of snacks I've come to expect as well. The breakfast was good as usual, but I and others noticed the coffee wasn't quite as good (rich and flavorful) as we had come to expect. Free parking - always a plus. Being charged about $10 a day for internet from a hotel like ES seems a ripoff - I don't like that.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Directed me to a wonderful and delicious Puerto Rican restaurant downtown - "Sol Food" - Its the real thing and amazing! Get there for dinner.

We tried the hotel restaurant for lunch one day. They had a very reasonably priced buffet and the food was worth recommending. We did so and got a group to go back - and there was no buffet that day! Disappointed, we ordered off the slightly pricey menu. The food was very good, but not quite the value.

  • Liked — Beautiful facility with good happy hour and breakfast included.
  • Disliked — I find paying for internet access on my laptop annoying.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Address: 101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.