We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Stays from $179
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in San Rafael
GreenLeadersSilver level
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Close to San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Located just of Highway 101 in San Rafael near the Marin County Civic Center and fairgrounds this hotel is convenient for travelers wanting to visit San Francisco and yet avoid the outrageous nightly lodging/parking charges "The City" commands. Parking is free at the hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge and the town of Sausalito are only 20 minutes away. The town of Larkspur is only a 10 minute drive where you can catch a "Bay Cruise" over to San Francisco. The hotel offers a shuttle to the ferry, a full breakfast in the morning and adult beverages in the late afternoon at no additional charge. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna. The double rooms are very clean and large. The rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. Each room has its own television. A nice man made viewing lake sits adjacent to the hotel where you can wander and enjoy the tranquility the area offers. A significant sized shopping center with a variety of restaurants and stores eg., Macy's is less than a mile away. My wife and I have stayed at other hotels in the area. We have not had a bad experience. San Rafael accommodations are a great way to save money and still be able to enjoy all the sights of San Francisco.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your very thorough and descriptive review relative to your recent stay with us...we should hire you to be on our sales and marketing team! As with you, so many of our guests are finding our location and services to be a great alternative to staying in the city. It was nice to read that you found us to not only be convenient, but that your found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, as that is what being in the hospitality field is all about...we want our guests to feel at home while getting the service they deserve and expect...so thank you. We look forward to the next time we can be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    157
    100
    36
    18
See reviews for
165
104
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently stayed here on our way home from a trip, so it was just over night. But, wished it would have been longer. This hotel is off the freeway, and kind of hidden which makes it nice and quiet. The accommodations are great with suite rooms facing into a lovely inside courtyard. The staff is friendly and efficient. There is a happy hour each evening with your choice of complimentary beer or wine and even fresh popcorn! The location for breakfast is nice and roomy with lots of seating, and is a full meal with a variety of options including freshly made omelets. Overall, it was a very nice experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We love hearing that we are a hidden gem! Our location, nestled between San Francisco and Wine Country has proven more and more popular and a great alterative to staying in the city at a more reasonable cost...so thank you for writing about it. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all the comforts of our home, that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient and mostly importantly...that you would stay with us again! The staff looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. Close enough to San Francisco to visit but far enough away to be out of the City. We took the Larkspur Ferry into downtown San Francisco which was definitely the way to go. Not only did we get a boat ride across San Francisco harbor we also didn’t have to worry about parking our car downtown. The ferry ride is considered one of the best in the world as you can see Alcatraz Island, the Golden Gate Bridge and when you arrive downtown San Francisco, you are only a few steps away from the Cable Cars. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience relative to your recent stay with us. It was great to read that not only did you enjoy the hotel but that you found it to be in a great location! Being nestled between San Francisco and Wine Country is proving more and more popular with our guests and has brought us many new guests as well, so thank you for mentioning it. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Easy check in. Very nice room. Next to Marin Civic Center where we enjoyed a wonderful Moody Blues Concert at night Would definitely stay here again. They offer a daily shuttle to the Larkspur Ferry and have a beautiful interior courtyard. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for not only taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us but for the many great things you mentioned about the hotel, our location and the many amentiies we offer our guests. I hope you enjoyed the concert next door as well! We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I would rate this hotel a B+. It wasn't the greatest, but it was nice. It did have a homey feel about it and the breakfasts are really great. I wish they would extend them to 11:00 A.M. My daughter uses them a lot also in Austin & San Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It was nice to hear that you found the hotel to be "homey"and the cooked to order breakfast really great! We serve anywhere from 200-700+ people each morning in a three hour time period, so it's nice to hear that the efforts of the Staff are appreciated and enjoyed by our guests. It was also nice to hear that your family are fans of Embassy Suites...we appreciate that! It is my hope that the next time you travel to our area that you stay with us once again so that we can change your stay from being a good one to a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Love the location of this hotel - stream and lake steps away and convenient to area's other natural areas. Spectacular inner courtyard which one can observe from glass elevator. Find complimentary breakfast and manager's reception. Only problem was uncomfortable mattress in pull out sofa so if you don't need that, this is a great place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It was nice to hear that you truly enjoyed the ambiance of the open air atrium , our cooked to order breakfast and evening reception and that you found our location perfect. In terms of the sofa bed, I appreciate you bringing to our attention that it needs to be looked at and possibly changed. As with most things, they wear with age and it may very well be that this mattress needs to be replaced, so thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited Embassy Suites San Rafael in October 2013 for a conference that meant the place was sold out. The front desk did a fine job of trying to accommodate us when we realized we'd inadvertently booked a smoking room. The suites are fine and it is nice to get a living room. The hotel breakfast was sufficient - nothing to write home about. I would not recommend the restaurant for dinner if you actually care about fresh, well prepared food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It was good to hear that the Staff was helpful and friendly and were able to accommodate your request for a non-smoking suite. In regards to our cooked to order breakfast, it is my hope that you were aware that we offer eggs any way you like them and that we have french toast or pancakes also available in addition to our buffet, oatmeal, yougarts, fresh fruit, pastries and toast each morning. If you were not aware, it is my hope that you have the opportunity to enjoy them on a next visit. In terms of Grille 101, I can share with you that we do offer fresh food and that our Cooks follow recipe guidelines relative to ingredients and how to prepare each dish. I apologize if you ordered something and were unhappy with it. We would have been more than happy to get you a new order or prepare something else for you. I have shared your comments with the Culinary Staff, as they need to hear what our guests are saying...that's how we learn, improve and grow...so thank you for your candor and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when and if your travel plans include our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Address: 101 McInnis Parkway, San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.