We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Rafael

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Rafael to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Rafael
737 East Francisco Boulevard, San Rafael, CA 94901 (Formerly Days Inn San Rafael/San Francisco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed there on a recent Saturday night. To their credit, they had a vacant room, but the manager admitted it was in bad shape and insisted we see it before giving it to us. He said it was in need of repairs. The room, with three beds, has been used hard. Handles loose, etc. But shower, toilet and sink worked.
Exterior of the buildings also looked worn.
Parking lot is tight. Do not bother if you drive a big truck, let alone are pulling a trailer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    14
    11
    13
See reviews for
6
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

FOR $90 A NIGHT THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST PLACE ON EARTH TO STAY.
Air conditioning did not work, siding is falling off building, no refrig, holes in bed covers, like really big holes.
I would not stop her if you have a choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

arrived 7/28/12 room 174, have stayed in a lot of hotels and this was the absolute worst. carpets were stained, old dog food in the closet, despite having cable the tv was old and you couldn't hardly see the picture. dirty, old room. paint only covers up so much. went to dinner and came back a couple of hours later and there wasn't any parking. the parking is inadequate for the amount of rooms they have and very tight. went to the manager's office to complain and was told to park behind the motel in another business parking lot that was marked tow away zone at owner's expense. plus homeless people were camped out in the parking lot doing drugs. i had my two small children and my wife with me, i didn't feel safe having my family stay there, so we decided to leave. i returned room keys to manager's office and asked for a refund and was denied. we decided to drive 150 miles back home and return the next day so my wife could finish up her class she was taking, we will be contacting the corporate office to make a complaint! DO NOT STAY HERE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I arrived a bit late in the evening and was given room 154 which is located in the second courtyard. The parking IS a bit tight. The courtyard area is small and you pretty much have to back out of it in order to leave. I could see a fender bender occuring if some else were coming around the corner at the same time. The room is actually two rooms in one, with a separate windowless room containing a single queen bed. The main room has two beds. There was no odor of any kind when I entered. There was no peeling paint or anything like that. TV worked fine. The bathroom is a bit dated, but was clean. The housekeeper had evidently forgotten to leave a set of towels. I went to the office to get some. The bathroom sink is a stand alone type with no counter top on which to place your toiletries. The hot water faucet provided no water at all, but the shower was satisfactory. Bathroom has a sliding translucent window which lets in a lot of light from outside in the courtyard. The solution was to just close the bathroom door. Bedding was clean and the blanket was soft, not like some of the stiff ones in a couple of other Motel 6's I have stayed at on this trip. No sign of any bedbugs. Carpeting is certainly not new, but neither is it gross. There was no noise to speak of during the night and i didn't see anyone whom I would call a shady character. Not sure what restaurants are close by. I drove about three miles to a Dennys, because I like to eat there. I paid $70 including tax and the senior discount. That's $10 more than in the others in which I have stayed. The clerk who checked me in was in no way rude.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Terrible. I am in room #138 date:2/2/2012 Room reeks of stale urine. There is literaly no cold water today. So I cannot flush the toilet or have a glass of water. Have not tried the shower yet. It does not appear to be a nice neighborhood as well. Hopefully I do not get attacked by bugs or something tonight. Fingers are crossed. Think I will head to the airport and sleep there tomorrow night. Have a flight back home Saturday morning. Lucky only working here one day. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a horrible hotel with no concern for your comfort or enjoyment during your stay. We stayed here over Christmas/New Year's and had numerous issues. Initially, the TV was not working properly so we were told by staff it was being fixed. Days passed and it still was not fixed nobody even attempted to come into our room to look at it. Local telephone calls were not working on our phone. We notified management but yet again nothing was done not even an exchange of our phone. Construction was in progress during our stay yet we were not notified of this during our reservation or at the front desk before check-in. The loud banging started daily from 9-6pm. Many guests had complained about not being informed of this and were not given any compensation. Then we had only cold water in our room one morning so we again called to speak to the manager. Actually, we never had HOT water it was always lukewarm. He said, "I have had a lot of issues with you since you checked in so you need to check-out today" he said yelling. We willingly checked-out but he tried to blame us for all the problems that were CLEARLY only the fault of Motel 6. We questioned as to why so many basics were not operable during our stay and could only conclude that it was a cost saving effort for the motel. We never received a compted night or anything from this property so if you are expecting respect and fair treatment from this manager and staff in exchange for spending your money here, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telenurse85
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

$59.99 a night is reasonable for the San Rafael area but for Motel 6 this is expensive. So one would expect them to have their property well kept up. I have stayed in Motel 6 properties from coast to coast while traveling for business because I find them to be basic, clean and they meet my needs, nothing more, nothing less. I expect a clean quiet room, clean linens, a shower and internet available. Oh, and plenty of parking.
First, I found that there is almost no parking at the San Rafael location. Fortunately I found a spot. Unfortunately, I was afraid that, should I move my car, I would be without a spot for the rest of my one night stay so I walked nearly a mile oneway to get food from my favorite local chinese restaurant (granted, I could have opted for delivery but my favorite restaurant didn't deliver).
Now, the young man who checked me in at the front desk was very, very nice and exceedingly helpful. He offered to fill me in on local attractions (of which there are many) and to recommend local restaurants. If I had the need of this service, he would have been of great help to me. And he was very personable.
There were actually two rooms, the second one was small and held a table and two chairs. It had no window and no plug in to which I could plug my lap top into. The layout reminded me of an old Rodeway Inn that I had stayed in years ago but the second room would have been a kitchenette. The rooms and the property were quite rundown. It would appear that the property has probably not been redecorated in well over a decade (at least). The room had threadbare carpeting, the walls were dingy, the furniture looked quite worn and old. I could hear my neighbors quite easily through the walls (much more than I wanted to).
I had difficulty sleeping. The bed was quite uncomfortable and, seriously, I thought I heard running and scuttling as if there were a mouse in the room. This left me sitting up in the bed with the lights on.
Overall, I expected the usual from Motel 6, no frills but CLEAN, basic and somewhat modern and with ease of parking. Instead I felt as if I had just checked into a motel from some Alfred Hitchcock movie....like the Bates Motel....which is why I can't really reommend the Motel 6 in San Rafael, CA

Room Tip: Go to a different Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Rafael

Address: 737 East Francisco Boulevard, San Rafael, CA 94901 (Formerly Days Inn San Rafael/San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles North of Golden Gate Bridge in Marin County. Property is located within a mile of downtown San Rafael. Both major Bay Area airports (SFO and OAK) are located 30 miles away.Property offers:Cable TV, Free Wi-Fi, Free Coffee in the Lobby, Spacious and Clean Rooms, On-site Coin Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
Motel Six San Rafael
San Rafael Motel 6
San Rafael Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Rafael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.