We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay San Rafael

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added North Bay San Rafael to your Saves list
North Bay San Rafael
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Rafael
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading to San Francisco. The room was clean and spacious. The decor of the room was nice but the bed covers should be replaced as they were badly stained. The location was not that great but we were here for one night only so it served our purpose. If we were to stay longer in this area, we would not stay here again. The free breakfast in the morning was not that great. All prepackaged items and no milk for the cereal. There was nobody at the desk to ask for more milk either. Restaurants within walking distance were all Mexican. All in all, the value is okay for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    11
    1
    12
See reviews for
14
25
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Didn't want to stay in this area but ended up here... Long story. It was getting late and we were tired so stopped here. The desk clerk was fine. Not real sure of the neighborhood we checked in and went to our room. It looked like they tried to make the place nice I mean it was small but they actually had nice crown molding and such you could tell they wanted it to be nice. I say tried because they forgot one major thing UPKEEP! Seriously the bedcovers were stained and had holes!!! They really need replaced! The walls had marks on the from luggage and other things. Wouldn't stay there again way too many other places within driving distance.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We are on a tight budget, searched for the best value, a nice and inexpensive place.... this is what we found over 15 years ago:

This is a very nice, clean, and comfortable family owned hotel. We have been returned visitors for approx. 15 years and feel a part of the family. Throughout the years, the owner/staff continue to be very accommodating and always greet their guest with a welcoming smile.

This not a fancy hotel; however, it is and has always been well maintained by its owners. It is an exceptional value for the money and in a very convenient location. Miles from San Francisco-Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman’s Warf, Sausalito, Wine Country, etc. (minutes from restaurants and the Ferry to Sausalito and to San Francisco Warf).

Rooms include a fridge and microwave including other amenities such as an iron, ironing board, hair blow dryer, coffee maker with free coffee (both regular or decaf including packaged/sealed cream & sugar), and free bottled water for each guest is a plus.

In the lobby you will find Continental breakfast, additional coffee, assorted flavor of tea, and hot chocolate.

There is a Mexican restaurant literally a block away and other eateries walking/or a short driving distance.

Our sincere thanks to Mina (she’s a gem!), her family and staff!

See you again soon!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The refrigerator did not work, there were holes in the blankets, a musky smell, thin walls, and poor cellular reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was surprised to see how well maintained this place was. The rooms are in excellent condition. I'm guessing the rooms have been recently renovated. For a 2 star hotel, it's an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great room, friendly staff, good Wi-Fi, and under 100 dollars for the Bay Area. My only complaint would be the traffic noise from the freeway, but that quieted down and I slept wonderfully.

Will definitely stay again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This motel wins my award of having the most functional motel furniture. I liked the layout of the room very much, and everything was new and clean. I got a room with two beds because it was cheaper, but that made it a little cramped. There was a computer desk, comfortable chair, surfaces to put things, sink outside the bathroom, clothes hanging area and fridge tucked into the wall unit, and the towels and bed coverings were good.

The freeway rages outside the motel, but the rooms were sealed well and the noise was not that bad. I had asked for a room away from the freeway. They gave me the second room away from it. I pointed out that I had put in that request to be away from the road, and the clerk said all of the other rooms were already taken. I checked in at 3PM because of the reviews of how they do not honor reservations - how could everyone else have checked in already? The people that checked in after me got an even worse room on the second floor beside the freeway, and they also went in to see if they could get another room and were told "no". After talking with them, I noticed that half of the rooms had the windows open and curtains pushed aside, so these rooms had not been checked into yet.

I heard that this area used to be really bad, but it didn't seem too shady. Mostly car dealerships. I saw mostly families walking so I thought it would be OK. Then walking in the morning, I did see what was obviously a drug deal going on in the parking lot of a restaurant that was still closed.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Bay San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay San Rafael

Address: 855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your North Bay San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
North Bay Hotel San Rafael

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay San Rafael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.