We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open again. Better than ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Manana

Casa Manana
711 D St, in building courtyard, San Rafael, CA 94901
+1 415-456-7345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 215 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The restaurant is located on D. St right next to Arco gas station. Large parking lot is conveniently available for customers to park. We are located in the courtyard of the large medical building. Please don't let the location fool you. We have very nice outdoor seating as well as indoor. Perfect place to bring your kids or even your dog. Laid back polite friendly service. Family owned and operated since 1979 in this same location!
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Open again. Better than ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So glad this place is open again after a fire. We always eat outside--most pleasant--but inside is now welcoming and comfortable. Always water, chips and salsa when we arrive. The food is
quickly and beautifully served. One can have it mild or spicier. Very fair prices--especially on the specials.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good bargain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Creative menu with very fresh food. Atmosphere is lacking indoors unless you like the feel of Mama's kitchen when you dine out. Good to have patio seating. Creative combination and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch: Casa Mañana ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Although my son-in-law Sam had highly recommended Casa Mañana, having enjoyed dining there before, both of us were disappointed with our menu selections today. Sam had chalupas and I, a beef stuffed poblano. As for me, I prefer highly spiced dishes and sauces and I found the food and salsa bland. The sauces seem to suffer from excess of cornstarch. Even the tortilla chips were unsalted and tasteless. Too bad. I had high expectations.

May I say a few positive words about the restaurant. The service was exemplary. The decor inside and out in the tree-shaded courtyard was clean and attractive. I doubt if I will return but might recommend it to those who like mild Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No Pretention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Marin County doesn't have much to offer in old school Mexican food dinning. There are a lots of Burrito/Taco Taco-rea types but few who take the next step to really good Mexican food for Breakfast, Lunch and Diner. Nothing flashy just old world cooking without all the big lights and high prices.

The waitress stated they have been at this location for 32 years. I confess it is a little hard to find, a very quite location, a very simple set up, nothing flashy...the food speaks for itself.

Open 7 days a week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet Dining, Intimate Setting, No Waiting in Line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you enjoy food from countries south of the border, try this restaurant! Casa Manana serves delicious meals on the quiet patio area of a medical complex. There are umbrellas and tables for outdoor dining and tables inside the intimate restaurant. The waitresses are very friendly and attentive. For a small establishment, they have a large selection of dishes to choose from.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Manana also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Casa Manana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Manana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.