We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent, good food and lots of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's Mexican Restaurant

Celia's Mexican Restaurant
1 Vivian St, San Rafael, CA 94901-4723
(415) 456-8190
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 212 restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistent, good food and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been to many different locations for this restaurant chain in the Bay Area, but mostly we go to the San Rafael location as it is closest to our home. The food is always good and there is lots of it. The problem is the service. At the San Rafael location the service is either wonderful or poor. Case in point, my wife and I get the same thing each time. It can take 7 to 10 minutes to get the food to the table, after ordering. Monday it took a half hour. The place was not busy, the staff just wasnt willing to make an effort. We have had nothing but GREAT service at the other locations... As for the food, I highly recommend the Nachos, crispy cheese, combo platters and the Steak. My wife loves the Tostad Salad

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    6
    12
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great food and of course great margaritas !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I been in this restaurant many times ... Employees are great and so is there food ,,, highly recommend this restaurant if you any time you come to Marin county you should eat here

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great, Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food is delicious! The atmosphere is fun and colorful. We have been going to this restaurant for over 30 years, and it just gets better with each visit. Everytime we are visiting family in the area, we go to this restaurant for dinner. Staff is so friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We sat down they brought chips and salsa . Salsa had no flavor and as we waiting to order we finished the chip and no one ever came to take are order . So we got up and walk out

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Close to the motel. Delicious food. Pretty cheap beer and tequila.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Celia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celia's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.