We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and unusual pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry Street Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mulberry Street Pizzeria
101 Smith Ranch Rd, Ste C, San Rafael, CA 94903
(415) 472-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 215 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great and unusual pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

THis is NOT your usual pizza joint. THese are gourmet pizzas. Are you tired of pizza because you see the same varieties all the time? This is the way to fix that. I love all the pizzas these guys make. Very different combinations that really work. The place is more like a restaurant tha a Red Boy or Pizza Hut. The owner has won many competitions and when you try them you will know why. I like the cesar sald too. I have not tried the other food there because I have to get the pizza.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Solid Italian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you want spaghetti, ravioli, pizza, or lasagna, this is your place. Very good sauce, and pasta was not over-cooked, as sometimes happens in a restaurant setting. Service was especially good, and we arrived quite late. Solid place for a good meal at a fair price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I actually just got up and left. The plates were dirty, there was something floating in my water, a hair on mythe boyfriends pizza and to top it off there was something on the crust of his pizza that looked like mold. The owner denied it. The substance was green, gray and fuzzy. Once more, Terrible.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and salads and great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great Pizzas. Ted, the owner, also prepares great "paper pizzas". These are crust-less pizzas the are cooked on paper. Great if you are going low-carb (possibly helps if you are on a gluten restricted diet but I am not sure). You may have to ask for these. They may not be on the menu but they can prepare them.
My wife and I love the caesar salad, especially in the summer when you can get pickled ginger on it as well as the usual toppings. The other reviewer is right, the caesar with shrimp is great.
The place is nice but unpretentious. It is a pizzeria and it is great as that.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizzaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

You will be very happy with the pizza and other Italian food served here --- tasty and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Street Pizzeria also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Mulberry Street Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry Street Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.