We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scallops ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Davide Restaurant

Il Davide Restaurant
901 A St Ste A, San Rafael, CA 94901-3025
(415) 454-8080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 215 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd and 4th
California USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best scallops ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Everything that we ordered was excellent. The menu offers a great selection including several very creative dishes. And I will return for the scallops.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good local Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very popular with the business crowd, and always good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a great Italian restaurant with a fabulous menu. I love to come for lunch and have one of the many inventive wonderful pasta dishes which come with soup or salad and cost i believe around $12.
There is a bar and nice tablecloths in the dining room and a section that is a little separate for parties. I once had a homemade litlle tart that was amazing! I haven't tried the dinner menu yet. Something to look forward to. They are always pretty busy for lunch but I always get right in though i usually think next time i will get reservations.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant with friendly and efficient staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Il Davide and the owner have done an incredible job to bring GREAT food in a local downtown San Rafael location. He has even added live music to enjoy while dining. The long time experience staff make you feel like family.
The food is fresh and the wine list is great thanks to Mandy who has done an excellent job selecting special wines at a great value.

Enjoying Il Davide as one of the top Marin Restaurants - be sure to make a reservation as their is usually a wait.
Thank you David for the rest quality we all enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've returned here several times in the last few years. A modern take on Italian food that is always excellent. Good wine list. There is sidewalk seating and the modern interior is very attractive.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Davide Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Il Davide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Davide Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.