We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fresh fish, great sushi chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umi Sushi & Grill

Umi Sushi & Grill
819 4th St, San Rafael, CA 94901-3223
415-457-3992
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 215 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh fish, great sushi chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yoshi is the best and the fish is super fresh n yummy, as are the apps. Go there almost every time I am in San Rafael.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This restaurant lives up to every 5 star they would receive...so I give them that as well...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A colleague and I had a business trip here in the San Francisco area and stayed in San Rafael...we asked our hotel concierge for their recommendation for a good Sushi restaurant...they did not know of any in the area...so I went on Trip Advisor and saw this restaurant with 4 and 5 stars rating...so we went! Wow...what a great surprise, from the minute we walked in, we felt the family atmosphere immeadiately. The owner was at the sushi bar and greeted us immediately, the server was kind and sweet and very attentive...the sushi was excellent and the price was a great value. The recommendation by the owner and server were right on...the restaurant was clean and very inviting, non-pretentious, just very family oriented. Thank you for making us feel at home...we have told our hotel about you and we hope that this restaurant gets more recommendations...we definitely recommend it...oh, we even saw the one across the way...from a commercial atmosphere to a family oriented one...it was a no brainer! We are so glad we did...so will you!!! Go and enjoy!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fresh & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Umi is a small family owned sushi restaurant. Owner makes the sushi - always delicious and his wife makes the udon, soba, and tempura dishes. We have always been pleased with our meals - fresh sushi, homemade udon, friendly service. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A sweet gem that deserves attention.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This spot gets overshadowed by a later sushi place across the street. I have brought people here who have been to Japan and they rave at the authenticity of their presentation, including tea service. The owner and his wife are very sweet and personal. The food is always fresh and the"umi roll" is exquisite! Please support these folks!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best sushi hands down. Fresh, flavourful, and just lovely. Order the spicy tuna roll or the unagi. Trust me on this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Best sushi hands down. Fresh, flavourful, and just lovely. Order the spicy tuna roll or the unagi. Trust me on this. You will NEVER go back to Sushi to Dai For EVER again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi Sushi & Grill also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Umi Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.