We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenth Street Basque Cafe

Tenth Street Basque Cafe
249 Tenth Street, San Miguel, CA 93451
805 467 3141
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in San Miguel
Cuisines: Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Tenth Street Vineyard Cafe
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Dallas, the owner put up with our rather crazy group of Car People for a fabulous dinner. We were stuffed to the gills on fabulous food! This place is fantastic!!! I'm sorry there are only 5 stars available. The only minor complaint is about the bill. There is no price list, even for wines and with our large group (25), we took up three tables. It would have been easier to bill each table separately. As it was, we got it figured out with no real drama. Another note, if you reserve for a group and some one doesn't show, you will be charged for them. Other than that, this is a fantastic place in a town where you would never expect it. Dallas is a wonderful host and the food was stellar!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An experience to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with a warm welcoming staff who are going to treat your senses through the entire meal! There is no menu, but no worry, the food is spectacular. We were there with a group of 40 and we were entertained with the passing of the bota bag, a treat not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“intimate and inspiring evening among new friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the friendly and attentive service to the intriguing decor, your meal is off to an unforgettable evening. The room is small and intimate, you can choose to sit at a large table and make new friends or a smaller table off to the side. Either way you feel a part of a new family. The food is delivered immediately and continues at a manageable pace for the next two hours. I was inspired by some of the new flavors I tasted, as well as by the provincial style of serving. The flavors were simple and fresh. The platters were large and colorful. My entire family look forward to revisiting every summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Quite Basque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is some good and some bad with this restaurant. First, I was born and raised in Bakersfield and have eaten at authentic Basque restaurants many times. This is not one of them. The only thing Basque about this place is the family style dining and that is hardly limited to Basque restaurants. If you want real Basque go to Bakersfield.

We went as a group and they opened that night just for us. That raised an issue with the price of the meal. There is one bill at the end of the night and that includes any wine that anyone ordered. Everyone pays for the wine, like it or not. The good thing was the wine was not that expensive. And, with the tip and all, it was somewhere around $50 apiece.

Aside from that, the food was good. The service was good and the owner/chef told a good story. If they had not opened that night just for us I would have felt the dinner was overpriced. They did package up the left over food and we took it with us and had another meal the next day. So two meals for $50 was not all that bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Time, Great Food, Great Experience overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been here many times now and absolutely love the place!

1. Chef Dallas is extremely welcoming, funny, witty and makes sure every guest has a great time.

2. Food is amazing! Way more than a normal human being should eat - but it is just so good that you cannot stop.

3. One trip we had some guest who did not eat meat (since Chef has a set menu), but Chef quickly whipped up an amazing chicken dish as a substitute and offered it to the entire table!

4. On New Years Eve, Chef accommodated us between his regular seatings and treated us in STYLE!

5. You cannot get so many courses of excellent food for this price!! I'd pay 1.5 to 2 times and not feel pinched for this food / experience!

This is a must go place if you visit the Central Coast - but go hungry !! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenth Street Basque Cafe also viewed

San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 

Been to Tenth Street Basque Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenth Street Basque Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.