We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep "20/20 & John Stossel" w/ camera in tow” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Paso Robles, California
1 review
“Keep "20/20 & John Stossel" w/ camera in tow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I left my laptop locked at the hotel (during my 6 week stay while going thru a medical procedure i was trying to keep my family close to me) my husband came home and because the laptop was on and open he saw the maid knock over my laptop. When we complained and were told that we would have no problem. My husband saw it so no problem!!!!! Yes problem!
They stated after I went home that unless my husband knew exactly the time by the minute,THE TIME BY THE MINUTE i would not be reinbursed even thou he saw it, even thou we could say the day and the time of between 9-11am it didn't mattter. They wouldn't do ANYTHING.
This was not the only problem.......they overcharged my visa by $547. NO EXCUSES!!!! the management needs to go!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
20
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I went to the Residence Inn as part of a work trip. The inn itself looked very homey (in a good way) and all of the staff there were very helpful. There were plenty of parking spots to park the rental and the room itself was the largest I've ever been in. There was a nice couch in front of the television which could also be turned to face the bed if you choose to do so. The kitchen was also an excellent size with a fridge and microwave.

The dining area served breakfast and dinner all days which was very convenient after a long day at the office. The dining area has plenty of seats available and a television to check out the latest news.

The location wasn't close to anything too exciting but you could walk to a small shopping complex with the essentials if required (probably a 15-20 minute walk). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, Baby!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

+ Efficient front desk staff - truly rare these days.
+ Full kitchen, living area makes this a bungalow studio.
+ Good internet 48KB/s free, 160KB/s $10 daily/$99 monthly.
+ High quality beds.
+ Near Costco, Target and Trader Joe's.
+ Near highways.

~ Breakfast included, didn't try.

- Housekeeping respects neither your schedule nor your privacy and will break into your unit if you are in the shower.
- Check in early, parking is tighter than most but available.
- Modest flooding during 10 year rainstorm on property was apparently due to construction mistake and the fact Foster City is at sea level. It was handled in the middle of the night.
- Near highways.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night and since they were not busy they gave us a free upgrade to a penthouse. The light fair meal in the evening was blah. The breakfast was much better with many things to choose from. I would stay here again.
:))

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — light fair dinner
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

This place was pretty decent. This wasn't the typical Residence Inn stand alone building. There are indiviual buildings with several (maybe 8?) rooms in each building. The buildings are kind of jammed in on the property, there isn't a lot of open space if that's what you're looking for. I really liked my room, I think it was recently renovated. Really comfortable bed and a nice shower wiith great water pressure (slow draining sink though which was a bummer). Definitely a roomy room though. The work out room was TINY, one treadmill a stairmaster and a bike. I had to wait for the stairmaster then there was some guy waiting for me to finsh. Nice pool area w/jacuzzi. The staff was courteous and very helpful. There is a massive shopping plaza (Bridgepoint) right around the corner with a ton of shops, restaurants and most importantly a Starbucks. I was pretty disappointed with the restaurant selection though, all cruddy chains. I got stuck at the Red Robin one night because I didn't know the area. The 2nd night I discovered "Turtle Bay" which awesome and very close (in the Safeway plaza). They had a great menu w/fish, porkchops, steak, pasta, great place and nice atmosphere.

Bottom line: I had a good stay here and I'd stay here again but 2 weeks later I tried the Courtyard in Foster City which I thought was MUCH better (and DIRECTLY next to a Starbucks!).

  • Liked — Nice room, comfortable bed and pillows!
  • Disliked — The property feels overcrowded.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

My husband and I booked a "penthouse" suite for the long MLK Jr. Day weekend. "Penthouse" means there is a queen bed and bathroom in the loft area upstairs, and a living area/kitchen/bathroom downstairs. There is a gas fireplace in the living area, and a murphy bed off the living area. We would consider this for a family accomodation, but there is only a curtain to separate the murphy bed area from the remainder of the suite - no doors between the sleeping areas.
The decor was average for a Residence Inn. We were surprised when we drove up on a Friday evening to find the parking lot full! Typically, business hotels are fairly empty on the weekends. The proximity of Oracle and other IT training facilities nearby must contribute to their high occupancy rate. The property is showing its age, with worn furniture and some damage to the interior of the suite.
The location is very convenient for the San Mateo and Redwood City areas. There is a nice shopping center within view of the property. It bills itself as an airport hotel, but it is several miles of an easy drive away from the sprawling SFO.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good, with everything well stocked right up until the end. The hot food looked hot, and there was a nice variety of fruits, yogurt, cereal, and breads.
The only real complaint I had was the noise level. The property abuts CA-92, and the traffic noise only diminished after about 11:00 p.m. It started up again around 7:00 in the morning. We were on the side facing the freeway, so one may be able to request a quieter room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise level
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel on business and found the hotel had a few issues but none that would prevent me from staying at it again. In an effort to keep my review short I will just simply list the plus and minus of the property.

Plus: free breakfast, free light dinner, free high speed internet, free internet service in the lobby if you do not have a computer. Free coffee is always availble. Complimentary news paper (US Today and San Francisoco paper). Fruit was always available in the lobby with no extra charge. Complimentary shuttle service from 8-8. Free pick up from the San Francisco airport. The room as a stove, large refrigerator, sink, microware and dishwasher. The room is set up like a suite but there is no privacy between the living room and bedroom. The room is set up more like a studio with a sleeper sofa. Oh, did I say free wine and beer in the evening.

Minuses: I would not recommend this property for a single female that is vacationing or traveling alone. There were just way too may bushes around the property that anyone can hide in. Housekeeping sometimes will ignore the magnetic sign that says "no service" that you can place on the outside of the door. I would recommend that you call the front desk or housekeeping to let them know directly that you do not want houskeeping service that day. This hotel is too far away from San Francisco if you plan on taking public transportation.

Other than what I listed above, my stay was very pleasant. This was one of the best Residence Inn's I have stayed at. The breakfast was outstanding and the keg of beer hit the spot the day they prepared hot wings for the light snack in the evening.

  • Liked — The room was very clean and spacious.
  • Disliked — Way too many bushes on the property.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Address: 2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysBook your 2012 US Open stay at our newly Renovated Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport/ San Mateo hotel located 8.6 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from the tournament! Spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, and free high-speed Internet access provide guests the perfect extended stay accommodations. Join us for a complimentary breakfast buffet and light dinner Mon-Thurs evenings in our Gatehouse. Bridgepointe and Hillsdale Shopping Centers conveniently located to our hotel. Hotel is near many excellent golf courses including Mariners Point and Poplar Creek. Fun is found at attractions Malibu Grand Pix Go-Kart & Golf, San Mateo Expo Center, Coyote Point Recreational Area and San Francisco's major league sports events at Candlestick and AT&T Park. After all this excitement relax in the pool, spa and Sport Court at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport San Mateo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Residence Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.