We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting -- Don't Do it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting -- Don't Do it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place was filthy. Not sure why it is owned by Marriott; i expect more out of them. Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
27
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and I brought her grand kids here to go to Alcatraz. The area is nice, but this hotel is not up to the high standards that I have come to expect from other RIs. The complementary breakfast was so-so. They didn't even have equal sweetener for your coffee. The room where you ate breakfast was on the second level of the office and was hot, cramped, and just plain cheap. The room was alright. It was the older style RI, with the Tutor style building with 10 or 11 separate structures.

What really ticked me off was that I was a Gold Rewards member and asked for a better suite and the desk jockey behind the counter told me no.

I used to think that the Residence Inns were the best place to stay, but more and more, I am finding the Fairfield Inns and Downtown Marriotts with their free breakfasts are the best value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is my fifth trip to the San Mateo Residence Inn. I travel to San Mateo twice annually for business, and after my last trip I had deemed the Residence Inn a little tired.

I therefore booked this trip with some trepidation, but thankfully, when I arrived I found the rooms have received a makeover, which is much more extensive than it initially looked. I conclude the makover is very successful, having turned what was tired and quite tatty back into something comfertable, if not overtly stylish. Example: the cupboards in the kitchen are the same, but all the appliences and fittings have been replaced with much higher quality items.

Before booking, be sure you want a serviced apartment and not an hotel. And also be sure you can live with the location - it definitely is NOT downtown San Francisco, and you will probably need a car to get anywhere (although parking is plentiful and free)

Personally I perfer serviced apartments for their increased size, and the ability to self-cater is a real boon. The kitchens are full-sized and well fitted out.

Being located closer to my office, the Residence Inn ticks all my boxes.

The serivce I receive from the staff is always excellent.

Gripes? Onely one: they have replaced the televisions with new flat screen jobbies, which are great, but why no digital channels? Why are we stuck with such a limited number of analogue stations?

Room Tip: Ask for one of the inner rooms - they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while our house was being tented for termites. We have a "2 bedroom loft" setup. The room was on the 2nd floor of one of the buildings. Each building appears to have about 6-8 rooms in it on 2 stories, with a loft area that makes the building semi-3-stories. Parking was easy and right near the building.

The room was in good shape - appears to have been redecorated recently with flat-screen TVs, etc. Nice little living area with sofa & chair, and ottoman. Kitchen is small but has all the basic supplies. Full-size refrigerator was convenient since we had food to store from home while the fumigation was underway! The upstairs loft has a Q bed and full bath. There is a downstairs bedroom with doors that close (although the doors are thin) and another full bath. Everything was clean and housekeeping did a fine job.

The breakfast is quite good - better than typical for this type of place. There was oatmeal, cold cereals, eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), a waffle maker, fruit, coffee, etc. We made PB&J sandwiches for the kids to take to school with the food there.

We didn't check out the reception that others have mentioned.

I would recommend this place to friends and family, especially if traveling with kids or staying for a longer time and you want the option to cook your own meals or have your own lunch food available.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed at the Residence Inn while in the Bay area on a family holiday, as my husband has stayed there many times previously for work, but not for some years. This was the only stage in our holiday where we were having a larger-than-average hotel room, and not having to share limited space with our 3.5yo daughter. When we arrived, we were informed that our reservation for a 2 bedroom apartment could not be honoured, due to longer-term guests extending their stay. We were offered a viewing of a "penthouse studio" room; almost exactly what we'd requested, but without a devoted 2nd bedroom. This was fine for our purposes, and the hotel kindly gave us a discount on our already very good nightly rate.
The room had two bathrooms, two bed areas - one upstairs on a mezzanine, and one bed area directly off the living room area, but able to be separated from the living room by a full floor-to-ceiling, and wall-to-wall curtain. This was perfectly fine for our daughter.
We loved the attention housekeeping staff would keep to her bed - her doll would often be placed in the middle of the bed for her. It's a nice touch not to just pile the PJs and toys to the side.
Breakfasts were fine, and our daughter tried out the pool one morning, even though it was too cold for us. No noise or disturbances from other rooms or residents. Parking was never a problem.
We did have a problem with a toilet continuing to flush and with the hot water in the shower, but these were fixed quickly after we alerted the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We are a family of four who were visiting a relative in the bay area over Labor Day weekend and we found a residence inn close to where the relative lived. I have stayed in residence inns and have liked the 2 bedrooms suites and full kitchens. This particular residence inn was extremely disappointing.

First the room set up was called a 2 bedroom suite but basically is one big room. There is a loft bedroom but if the TV is on downstairs you can hear it as though you in the same room.

Also we were able only to take one hot shower then the hot water ran out. I called the front desk and they supposedly sent someone up to fix it but when the same thing happened the next day the person at the front desk said " you have to wait 10-15 minutes a someone uses the shower!

Then our door key stopped working.

Overall this is the worst hotel I have stayed at and I would not recommend this particular residence inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Picked this hotel b/c it was close to airport and allows dogs. Only stayed one night, but it was really a charming hotel. I would definitely stay longer if I had to be in the area longer. Nice sized room with loaded kitchen. Clean, quiet. Great value. Short drive to a park on the bay was an added plus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Address: 2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysBook your 2012 US Open stay at our newly Renovated Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport/ San Mateo hotel located 8.6 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from the tournament! Spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, and free high-speed Internet access provide guests the perfect extended stay accommodations. Join us for a complimentary breakfast buffet and light dinner Mon-Thurs evenings in our Gatehouse. Bridgepointe and Hillsdale Shopping Centers conveniently located to our hotel. Hotel is near many excellent golf courses including Mariners Point and Poplar Creek. Fun is found at attractions Malibu Grand Pix Go-Kart & Golf, San Mateo Expo Center, Coyote Point Recreational Area and San Francisco's major league sports events at Candlestick and AT&T Park. After all this excitement relax in the pool, spa and Sport Court at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport San Mateo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Residence Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.