We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, expensive for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Seattle, Washington, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old hotel, expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is older, and located right on the offramp of 101. The car noise wasn't as bad as I was expecting. Rooms are vary dated, but clean. My sliding glass door onto the balcony did not lock, which was disconcerning as it's not in the greatest neighborhood. The hotel lost power during the night, and came back on just as I was checking out. There were no safety lights or flashlights in the room which made packing stuff in the dark extremely difficult. The front desk apologized, but did not offer any sort of discount to rememdy the situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
19
14
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, I was so pleased with the manager and the front desk staff. costumer service was great! the room was clean,thw location is very convenient to the supermarkets.I just want to mention Arni the manager was very helpful.see you soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Checking in felt like I was interrupting the staff. I did not get the friendly welcome I received at the other 3 best westerns I stayed during our week long trip. I asked direction to the train station they listed on their site. They state it was only 1 mile away, but offered no direction how to get there. I asked a couple of time too. They told me only that it was close enough to walk to. Actually the train station is 3.3 miles away. My room was dirty with someone else's hair in my bed. There was a nasty used tissue on the side of my bed along with a dirty cup. Our toilet plugged up and instead of repairing it the staff member threw the plunger up to the step platform. My friend had to walk down the stairs to retrieve the plunger to repair the toilet herself. I went onto the balcony to witness a drug deal. There were 6 semis in the parking lot. It seemed like this hotel was more like a truck stop than a best western. I did enjoy the hot waffle maker for breakfast even though the food and eating area were very dirty. This property is behind an Asian strip mall which received deliveries very early. Between the semis, deliveries, and being located along side the freeway the noise was too much. If u are visiting San Fran as we were I recommend staying much closer. It is really far out. They say its only 15 minutes out, but actually it's an hour round trip. If u are looking to stay outside of San Fran to save money as I was try Millbrea or near the airport. The train station is very close and takes u straight into San Fran. Parking there is awful, so the train is the best way to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Check in was smooth. The attendant gave us a welcome bag of water and cookies. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was continental. We might have preferred more breakfast options,


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week when in was in California for a conference.
Friendly staff, free wifi, parking and breakfast! Big rooms and comfy beds.
Excellent value for money. Recommended (at least for inexpensive student travel)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

So once again I give a review as the single guy traveling on the road for business .

I have stayed at this motel / motor lodge 5 times or over the last 3 years .

This hotel has always been friendly and I like the strip mall right behind it to get Chinese food .

The hotel is pretty old . The hallways smell and rugs need to be replaced . The beds have also been very good .

The parking lot is very poorly written so families with little kids or people traveling alone who don't like dark places . So then I would look elsewhere .

This hotel could loose their Best Western name if they don't do some improvements

The problem is they ask alot of money ....if you look around I think you can find a better deal .

If you go just a little bit north you will find better hotels maybe a mile away .

So for a single guy traveling alone would stay here again but I would only pay about 75.00 not 130.00!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel was pretty standard with good breakfast options. It was clean and quiet and seemed like a pretty good value. Only draw back is location. It's a couple miles from downtown and on the other side of the highway and you have to walk through a neighborhood that doesn't seem like the greatest to get downtown.

But over all, I'd stay here again. Very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn

Address: 2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN San Mateo/Los Prados Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.