We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park and stay worked out but it gave me some concern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Prados Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Prados Hotel to your Saves list
Los Prados Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Park and stay worked out but it gave me some concern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with their park and fly package. The package is priced well and the room provided a good nights sleep prior to my trip. However, on the day of my departure, I arrived early to the shuttle pick up area. Long story short, the shuttle never arrived. Fortunately, one the staff recognized a problem and managed to drive myself and another guest to the airport, in what I expect was her personal vehicle. So on the positive side, they were helpful, in that they got me to my flight, however, I wonder what happened to the shuttle. On my return trip, I called for my pick up and was told a taxi would come get me and that they would settle the fare once we arrived back to the hotel. This all worked perfectly but I still wonder if there is actually a shuttle as part of the park and fly package.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
16
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I regularly travel for business, and Best Western is the preferred hotel for our company. I've stayed at most Best Western hotels in California, and without a doubt this was one of my worst experiences.
Upon checking in, I was received poorly by the desk clerk, Julio and was made to feel as if I was interupting him by having him do his job to check me in (no one else was in the lobby). Further, the lobby reeked of smoke and was in sad shape.
Next, I was shuttled off to the back building (there are three, 3 story converted apartments that make up this hotel). The parking lot had many loiterers and I felt very uneasy about leaving my car in that lot.
The hotel smelled of rancid food or sour milk (especially in the stairwell and hallways).
The thermostat in my room did not work, nor did the iron.
I left a day early and found lodging elsewhere.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well were do I start.. Room was 123 First floor - small balcony facing the parking lot

Monday night: No towels in the room, room was not what you expect from a Best Western. Had to go to the front desk and get towels and got a great roll of the eyes from the front desk clerk.

Tuesday morning: Shower did not work very well at all. Told the front desk they asked if I wanted a different room, I asked if they could just fix the shower she assured me yes.

Tuesday Night: Back from a long days work, Well I got one towel and one washcloth. Room was not cleaned to my standards. The bed was kinda made and I was missing a pillow? Again informed the front desk.. they assured all would be well tomorrow.

Wednesday Morning: Gave up on the breakfast just went to Denny's across the street
Wednesday Night: got back to the Hotel after a very long day, Entered my room and found it to be fairly clean and in good order.

Thursday Morning: Denny's again.. not much at the breakfast bar which is located in the third building.

Thursday night: Entered my room and was greeted to the Balcony door wide open.. Cautiously checked out the room and was relived to find that nothing was missing. I cant even begin to tell you how unhappy i was at this point.. Again went down stairs and told the night shift clerk what i had found.. he was very nice and was apologetic, I was told the manager was out of town.

I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone..Beware!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to! This hotel was unsafe and not well managed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSM, Manager at Los Prados Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Mr. Keller:

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We further apologize for your inconvenience with our breakfast as we are completely renovating our breakfast area which should be complete by the end of the month.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (650) 341-3300.

Sincerely,

Allison
Best Western San Mateo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The only thing I feel OK is the location. If you find something broken in the room, it is always your fault, and you will be charged. You even can't sit and have your breakfast since the dinning area is so tiny.

If you have no other choice, this hotel is better than nothing. Please ignore the messy and noisy surrounding area as the hotel has no responsibility for those either.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor with interior access rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSM, Manager at Los Prados Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (650) 341-3300.

Sincerely,

Allison
BEST WESTERN San Mateo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The size of the room should only have had a double bed, not a queen. The complimentary breakfast was good and served early enough to accommodate our needs. They have an airport shuttle, but one would still need a car because it is too far from the southern most BART station. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave.

Room Tip: Small but clean. Forty minutes south of San Francisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Los Prados Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We visited SF for 3 days and decided to rent a car, stay in San Mateo and drive to the city. The hotel was conveniently located, just off the major highways. Our room was very spacious and comfortable for a short stay. The refrigerator didn't work but not a big deal as we didn't use it. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast could have been better, but for what you pay and considering the location, it is decent. There is not much to do in San Mateo, but if you plan to drive around, this shouldn't bother you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great place to stay near the airport. We flew in early morning. Staff was very nice and helpful. My mother liked the fact they had glass cups and glasses. Room was comfortable and very clean. I would stay here again to be near airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Prados Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Prados Hotel

Address: 2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Prados Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Mateo Los Prados Inn San Mateo, CA - Los Prados Hotel - San Francisco Airport - Los Prados Hotel Silicon Valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Los Prados Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Prados Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.