We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more from a best western” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Los Prados Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Los Prados Hotel to your Saves list
Los Prados Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Arcata, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I expected more from a best western”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked this hotel for a business trip because the price was right and the location was okay. Hallway smelt funny, room was okay. Window was tough to open, microwave was at least 30 years old, loud fan in bathroom, motion sensor lights in bathroom so whenever you walked by the lights and the fan came on, got annoying. Asian strip-mall next door, but no restaurants open past 7:30. Hotel breakfast wasn't good, only other place for breakfast close by was Denny's.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    19
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
18
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Minimal hotel. Nice staff, OK breakfast, small and dingy room. Lobby smelled old, room smelled OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Had made a reservation via the 800 Best Western. When I got to a Best Western which was reserved they had no park and fly. However, I was sent to this hotel and paying the same price.
Staff were very helpful. Clean room. Left for airport before breakfast was served. Hotel provided a taxi to the airport because I left before the hotel shuttle began service.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a low-end motorlodge located behind an unattractive strip mall. The freeway noise is very audible in the rooms facing the road. Smelly hallways lead to small rooms (with their own funky smells). Buyer beware when purchasing through Hotwire; they list this property as a 3-star hotel... when the Best Western's OWN website ranks this property as 2-star. Even after calling Hotwire to discuss the misrepresentation of this property, they refused to allow me to cancel my reservation. This is the second time I have been screwed by Hotwire. I won't be using Hotwire again!

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from freeway on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for few days for my business trip. The staff members that I encountered were very friendly. Rooms and facility are excellent to what I paid for. Will want to be back for sure..........

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The first time we stayed here we were going to use the Park and Fly and go to Hawaii for our honeymoon. This didn't happen due to Sept. 11th and all the airports were closed. We ended up coming back to the hotel instead of flying out and the staff were very nice and accommodating with us. We ended up staying 2 more nights.

The other 2 times we stayed here just for a weekend get away. Very nice staff and our rooms were always clean and inviting. We liked that there was a Denny's on the premises.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

nice clean room, helpful front desk,fridge,wifi,pc&printer access, nice n quiet, good rest near to airport.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Prados Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Prados Hotel

Address: 2940 South Norfolk Street, San Francisco's International Airport Area, San Mateo, CA 94403-2018 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Prados Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Mateo Los Prados Inn San Mateo, CA - Los Prados Hotel - San Francisco Airport - Los Prados Hotel Silicon Valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Los Prados Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Prados Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.