We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrival/Check-in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Bridgepoint Circle, San Mateo, CA 94404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arrival/Check-in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived at about 11:00pm and we were greeted by a smiling young lady. Since it was too late, the restaurant in the Hotel as well as the Room Service were already closed. With her assistance, we were able to find a restaurant that was still open (that late) and had our late dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    126
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
89
67
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed 3 separate stays over a month, with another 5 weeks coming up. Construction and re-model are not an issue and the rooms are nice. Rating is about front desk staff. Requested a wake-up call and the front desk did not enter it into the system. Was an hour and a half late to a meeting the next morning. Manager called me after I left a message, apologized and offered points - no points have been posted. At check in requested complimentary waters (based on HiltonHonors level)...front desk said they were in the room. They were not in the room - had to get them. Called the front desk about room service menu...front desk said the menu could be viewed on the room TV...it was not on the TV. TV hotel channel shows breakfast at the hotel is $14.95, breakfast is actually $16.33. Separately not big issues, but together becoming more noticeable for frequent traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gregg S,

I have spoken with all our front desk to remind them of the importance of wake up calls. I'm sorry your day got started off on the wrong foot.

You spoke with me after this particular stay and I contacted HHonors to double check your account. They tell me the points I submitted were posted. Please contact me directly if you do not see them in your account.

The room service menu is on all our TV's. I am considering going back to printed ones but it does not give us the freedom to update our menus as often as our electronic TV menu.

The breakfast cost is $14.95 plus California sales tax. We offer all you can eat cooked to order American breakfast. This includes omelets, bacon, sausage, potatoes, muffins, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. Guests frequently tell me our breakfast is one of their favorites.

I see you have continued to stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should the need ever arise. We take pride in being the #1 hotel in San Mateo and would like to keep you as our guest.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650) 356-6107
Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legrand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days for leisure. We have in past stayed here for last 4 years. It was a quiet, clean and fully accomading place that would come after going to Stanford medical for procedures. We are a Hilton Honor member enjoy courtyards models. This stay we were aware of the remodeling and temporary change area od dining. The new furniture for lobby and dining looks inviting. We were placed on first floor was a little noisy. The breakfast was still tasty and complements to cook for him able to make omelets in a small area. I love the complementary oatmeal bars in evening better tasty then cookies. We only had one mishap, left for the day the housekeeper cleared out the fridge and microwave accidently. We had refreshments, fruit and desserts gone. I am good organized clean guest all the time. Going in our room it would look like we had checked out. Our luggage was in closet. Our food in microwave and fridge.
I appreciated the desk clerk accomading by replacing our refreshments, unfortunately she was not able replace our fruit or dessert. There is great shopping plaza close by so I went to replace what I could. The only one thing in our room not working properly was bathroom fan. Overall we plan to continue staying at your hotel in future.
I love location, clean, value in price and staff always commanding in all situations =)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Noisy lobby contruction in April 2014. Restaurant is in Conference Room. Amenities (pool, fitness) blocked by construction. Hotel located near Bridgepoint Mall in San Mateo. Very convenient to Gilead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was a great value for the money. There was construction in the lobby, but I was warned about it in an email before my stay. It is quiet and clean. I have stayed there in the past and will again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

...but was in the process of having the lobby/Restaurant renovated. I only found this out when I arrived. The checkin counter was a pair of folding tables off to the side. The "restauant" was relocated to a conference room and the "bar" was another folding table in the corner of that. I had to walk to another hotel nearby to enjoy the bar there. I was charged full rate without being able to really enjoy the hotel's amenities. On the plus side, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The renovations should be completed in another few weeks to a month.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Jonathan,

I want to personally thank you for sharing your stay with us. We do have a renovation notice posted on our website and have been emailing guests prior to arrival with pictures attached of our current progress. We want to make sure everyone is informed about the condition of our lobby prior to arrival so there aren't any surprises. I'm sorry you did not see that information.

I understand our lobby and restaurant’s presentation was a concern, as it is for us as well. We have been in the process of renovating the entire lobby. I’m sorry you were unable to enjoy our bar and that we couldn’t deliver a satisfactory level of service for you. I think you are really going to like what you see when it's done at the end of April. I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us and provide feedback about our new lobby. We would love to have you again. Thank you!

Kind Regards,

Derek Hudson
General Manager
Email: Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel Construction in progress, caused many problems Noisy, confusing, relocation of temporary restaurant and fitness center. Fitness Center a mess and most non functioning. Restaurant workable with excellent personnel ( only plus feature in hotel)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dayton,

Thank you for your comments on our restaurant and I’m sorry we were unable to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the construction noise you encountered during our lobby renovation. We are making every effort to get the work done quickly during daytime hours when most of our guests are out for the day in an attempt to minimize the impact. We anticipate the lobby to be complete by the end of April.

Our fitness center is fully operational with the exception of TV's on the cardio equipment. This area will also be put back in place by the end of April.

We hope you will consider staying with us again to see all the improvements.

Kind Regards,

Derek Hudson
General Manager
Email: Derek.Hudson@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Address: 2000 Bridgepoint Circle, San Mateo, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.