We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Bridgepoint Circle, San Mateo, CA 94404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Attended a family function in San Mateo and booked at this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. It lived up to all the five-star ratings - clean, lovely staff, good breakfast, well situated. I would stay here again if commuting to/from San Francisco or visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    91
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
54
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I really like it here. It has superb customer service, and it's in an ideal spot, straight shot to SFO and just a hop away from the East Bay. The food was great, and the whole air of friendliness of the staff was invariable. It was a great experience staying in this hotel. We also had my daughter's graduation in one of the rooms, had the food catered by the hotel, and even decorated by their staff. We were very impressed. Thanks to Maribel and her staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We come here for a yearly event and have been very pleased with all the staff here - everyone has been friendly and helpful and the property has a relaxed feel - but maintains very professional service. I totally messed up our reservation and the guy on the phone was very understanding. BED COMFORT WAS HORRIBLE because of the *@#! new Hilton beds - supposed to be adjustable but are total crap - but that's not the staff fault - but really - I hate these new beds - and I stay at Hilton a lot. Anyway, everything else was great and ample free parking is a BIG plus. Location is very close to many restaurants and necessity shopping, area is pretty quiet, too. MY APOLOGIES for forgetting to tip housekeeping when we left - they do a great job, and I don't want them to think we weren't happy with the rooms' condition! (night of 5/18/13 second floor) THANKS!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for the Maker Faire 2013 and had a great experience. The restaurant had a great full breakfast with cooked to order eggs and waffles and the hotel is in a safe, clean area within walking distance to several places to have lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location and good, standard hotel, BUT the room stank of smoke smell even though supposedly non-smoking. Luckily the large window could be opened wide and the weather was pleasant and windy. When will hotels learn that changing the sign on a room from smoking to no-smoking without deep cleaning the room doesn't cut it?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We love coming to CA and staying at this hotel. The sfaff goes above and beyond to accomodate any request that is required. The airport shuttle is a plus. The rooms are always clean. The laundry facility is a plus. Would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to this area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

OK, I'm lazy and I usually stay at Hilton hotels because they are generally nice and reasonably priced in my world view, although I have stayed at some cheaper hotels when I am trying to actually spend grant money on students. That said, this hotel actually had holes in the sheets, and the bedding in general was a bit below par. The hot tub was tiny but nice and hot. The breakfast wasn't a bargain, but it was good. Still, I can't get over the holes. . .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dghudson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear MannyLiestold:

Thank you for your response. I was a bit concerned after reading your comment about our sheets. We spend thousands of dollars each year on new ones to avoid just this type of situation and keep everything looking new. I have brought the issue up with our maids and laundry staff this week to make sure they continue to remove anything from circulation that looks worn.

Thanks again for bringing this issue to my attention so it can get rectified right away.

Sincerely,
Derek Hudson
General Manager
(650) 356-6107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Address: 2000 Bridgepoint Circle, San Mateo, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.