We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 South El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Emeryville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for the SE exam at the San Mateo Event Center. The room was newly painted and pretty clean. And the breakfast in the morning consisted of cereal, bagels, Svenhard pastries, coffee,and oj. The only complaint i have was the car alarm that kept going off up until 1am, which was bad if you had to take a test at 7am the next day. And the other complaint is that the room needed more power outlets next to the bed. There was only one, which was taken up by the lamp and an alarm clock.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
29
16
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So. Ca City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. I had a second story room with a window that actually opened. The A/C and heating unit actually worked perfectly. The room was very clean. I stay at 5 star large hotel chains, but this was more convenient, and the desk customer service was very helpful, accommodating, and available 24/7 for anything I needed. Within close walking distance to many nice places and restaurants. I was there for 8 days and I never had a negative experience. The location is also very safe and the exterior is very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice motel clean quiet but the desk clerk sanjeep was the best. Very helpful, went totally out of his way to help us. Checked on us to make sure everything was to our likeing. He was almost like a personal tour guide and assistant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Out stay at the Howard Johnson was very enjoyable. The room was just what we needed. We had a refigerator, microwave oven and coffee pot; the room was extremely clean and the cleaning staff came promptly every day. For the price, you couldn't beat it. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Satisfied customer:)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo

Address: 2110 South El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of San Mateo, we pride ourselves of the charming décor and comfortable amenities of our hotel. We aspire to give you the best quality service and make your stay memorable. Situated among fine dining, renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities, we are certain you will enjoy your stay hassle-free.We are located within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, Oakland, Berkeley, Daly City, Pier 39, Alcatrez, Fisherman’s Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and we are a short drive away from Napa and Sonoma Valley which host some of the finest vineyards in the world.We are in close proximity to Oracle, Yahoo, Google, Mills Peninsula Medical Center, Virgin America, NASA, United Airlines, Stanford University, Canada College, and minutes from Silicon Valley which comforts our business travelers. Our explorer travelers will appreciate landmarks & historical buildings around the area like Coyote Point Park, Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge, De Anza Expedition Camp, Courthouse Square, Father Junipero Serra Statue, Devil's Slide Historical Landmark/ Viewpoint, Ralph D. Percival Memorial Vista Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Howard Johnson San Mateo
San Mateo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.