We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near airport, BART, rental cars and with shuttle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel to your Saves list
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 North Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Near airport, BART, rental cars and with shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best priced but book early with breakfast. Shuttle can bring you to the rentals, BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit to the airport and anywhere in downtown and ajoining suburbs quickly. BART accepts credit cards but bring cash too.

Room Tip: Upper floor near elevator with site of the parking and lobby across the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
15
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willows, Ca
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older facility that offers an inexpensive place to stay for people traveling out of SFO. The complimentary buffet and friendly staff were an unexpected plus. The location is adjacent to the Bayshore freeway in a working class area, but felt secure.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in SF for business and I needed a place close to the airport to spend a couple of nights before an early flight. This hotel is close to the airport, has a good price, is clean and the breakfast is not bad. It was a pleasant stay, apart from the fact that the wifi comes and goes.

One thing: if you use the shuttle to the airport, book it 30min before you actually need it. I took the shuttle a few times and it was always 15-20 min late.

Overall, a good place to stay if you need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I stayed here as part of my visit to Frisco. The price was just right for a person who has a car available.
I was commuting in and out of the city, but the price compensated for that.
The breakfast was good. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obr2000
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Very convinient if you arrive SF after a long haul flight or if you have get up for an early flight. The hotel is a bit outdated but clean. The highway is nearby but did not really causing any problems with regards of sleeping. The aircon unit is from the last century and very loud would not stay there in Summer

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Since its only about a 15 minute drive from the airport, this is a perfect hotel for anyone flying out of SFO. I stayed here for one night as my wife was flying out the next morning and it was perfect. The room was nice and the location was good too. There aren't many restaurants nearby, we had to hunt around for a Chinese restaurant that was a couple miles away in a residential neighborhood. We also went to downtown San Mateo which is about 15 minutes away (its not easy to get to if you don't know the area). The hotel is right off the 101 so getting onto and off of the freeway is no problem at all. The continental breakfast is a REAL breakfast, not just a cereal and a toaster. I would definitely stay here again the next time I fly out of SFO.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I stayed here in July and gave the front desk $200 deposit when I check in. But they refused to give the deposit back to me when I check out.

What is worse is they kept lying to me about why they can't give my deposit back, the excuses I have heard are "the manager is not here", "We will give it back to you but it takes time for the company to issue a check", "the person who is in charge of this is on vacation", etc. All lies!

It has been 2 months and I made 5 visits to the hotel. I still haven't got my deposit back. It's ridiculous. I have never had such a bad experience with any hotels at the U.S.

The picture proof that that hotel owes me the deposit is attached in this comment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel

Address: 350 North Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport South)
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport South Hotel San Mateo
Comfort Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.