We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 North Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I feel this hotel gets too many negative reviews!! I wanted to set the record straight and write a positive review!! Hotel is clean, comfy beds, delicious large breakfast, friendly staff and great location. Carpet is a little dated but other than that it is great!! Will recommend to friends and family!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I flew into SFO late at night and stayed at the San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel. The airport shuttle was small and the driver was stressed because there were many people to pick up late in the evening. The shuttle barely fit my two travel companions and me along with our luggage and a bike box.

Got a good sleep at the hotel. The rooms were basic but fair enough for the price that we paid for it. The free breakfast the following morning was a bit disappointing since we are vegetarian and they did not have a listing of ingredients for many of the foods they were serving such as the breads and baked goods which often contain animal based mono and diglycerides.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I rented this hotel because of the price and location. I had a 7:30 am flight from SFO and selected this hotel for the proximity to airport. I would not stay here as a vacation stay, only as an overnight stay. Mind you, the room was clean and neat - not luxurious in the least. It gave you all the basics. No more. Would I stay here again? Not sure. If other better option for the money was available I would take it.

They offered airport pickup, which I did not use. Breakfast, as well, which I didn't use.

OK for price

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely NOT worth the $. Rooms are very small, their "QUEEN" size beds are actually only Doubles. The TV is in a very awkward spot in the room, so you have to either have your head turned to the left the entire time you watch it or you have to sit up. The breakfast was cold. They didn't have coffee made until 7am which my husband did not appreciate. The parking lot is horrible. The staff however was nice! I guess I expected more comfort for the cost. Motel 6 is a better then this place. The bathtub had a gash in it, the water pressure in the shower was almost nil. The air conditioning is a dinosaur unit thats either way to loud, if you actually want air, or does not put any air out if its on low.

Room Tip: Stay else where if you want a bed larger then a double. They state the beds are queens but they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Solidly average hotel. Don't go expecting high end. Every bit a 2 star hotel but for a fair price near the hotel with free parking this property is hard to beat. Yes a renovation is needed but for the price one will pay nothing much to worry about. Rooms are not super quiet but I didn't think the close freeway was a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When the wait for the hotel shuttle takes longer than the flight to San Francisco you know it's going to be a bad experience. We were not disappointed as the 2 hour wait for a shuttle was matched by the constant lying by the staff thar the shuttle was minutes away.

We gave up and took a taxi to the hotel. Then to be told that the shuttle had crashed on the freeway and that they did not even have their own bus but a shared shuttle.

We retire to the room which was dirty but we are to tired to care. The hair dyer did not work but wet hair won't kill anyone especially when you just want to flush your hotel experience out of your mind. A hot shower always helps - oh not at this hotel with no water pressure and the shower head spraying out at 90 degrees with a leak soaking the bathroom.

No matter let's leave for the next flight. Oh we can't leave .... we are then told that as we did not book a shuttle we have no room for you. The US Airways crews were getting taxis and some learned souls had a seat on the 5 seat shuttle. 5 seats on a shuttle you need to reserve. Brilliant concept for an airport hotel. Of course no employee told us that we need to reserve a seat.

In the days of amazing customer hotel service this third world hotel should be shuttered and the staff banished to the unemployment lines. They are clueless about honesty to a customer or what service entails.

Avoid this hotel at all costs, better to sleep on the floor at SFO than waste your time expecting a quality stay.

Room Tip: Sleep on floor at airport if you must than risk this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one evening prior to our morning flight out. Arrived 10:30pm and left at 4:30am. We called for shuttle information on route to the airport and got disconnected several times for various reasons. Did get shuttle service though, which worked very well. The desk clerk was a bit rattled. She was answering phones and checking people in all at the same time. The room was clean and hotel is a good option for a stay near the airport

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel

Address: 350 North Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport South)
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport South Hotel San Mateo
Comfort Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.