We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Birthday stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in a 2 room suite. Not too shabby. I had a few friends over and we had an amazing time. The front desk staff could be more friendly but overall I was happy with how my birthday turned out!! I might end up booking a room here again soon because the size of the room for the money I paid was amazing!!! Next time I'm thinking about trying the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisanmateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello Jessica H,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your Birthday Stay! We are very fortunate that you chose us, as there are so many great places to choose from.

I am sorry that our Front Desk Staff was not up to your expectations. We have been striving to become more welcoming and friendly here on the Front Desk, and it looks like during your stay we didn't quite make it. Please know that I will be passing your feedback on to the staff so that we can work harder at being more welcoming.

I am glad you found our double bedroom suite comfortable. We have some very nice rooms here, and try hard to keep them clean and comfortable. Please do try our Bistro 300 on your next stay with us. We feel we have a top notch dining experience here, and our Director of Food & Beverage (Gustavo V.) works hard to keep everything great here.

Thanks again for the feedback, and I look forward to speaking with you on your next stay with us,

Matthew Reeve
Guest Services Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites, San Mateo, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
52
34
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The rooms are good size, and very clean. The staff is helpful. Location is right on the 101 freeway, but did feel the noise at all. In fact, it was the noise of kids running upstairs that woke me. Also, the A/C is very noisy

Two comments. If you are sensitive to noise then get a room on the upper floor. If your life depend on Internet, this hotel my not be for you. The wireless is very weak and slow. The wired is interrupted on/off all the time. It is rather sad that they don't solve such a simple inexpensive problem,

Room Tip: f your life depend on Internet, this hotel my not be for you. The wireless is very weak and slow. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sam F,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is disappointing that to know that you were inconvenienced by the condition of the air conditioning system and Internet connection being slow. However, despite this I am happy that you found our rooms to be clean and staff service to be helpful.

Again, many thanks for the candid feedback and I hope we get the opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was upgraded to an absolutely huge suite! I wish I weren't.

All the extra space was utilized by placing a table for 2 with 2 chairs. Think of the table sometimes found in a normal size room and you have it except, it's in a space the size of a decent sized dining room. I have absolutely no idea how I would ever use this extra space.

The A/C unit was, however, not upgraded to meet the needs of this much larger space. It ran at full speed (not quietly) and never got the temp anywhere near where I set it (70 if I remember).

The location of the hotel is literally off the freeway exit; as it, you exit almost directly into the parking lot and it sound like it. I requested a room furtherest from the freeway and was assured I was given a room that "couldn't be further from the freeway". Guess what I overlooked from my room? The freeway...

The restaurant/lounge was serviceable as a lower end hotel restaurant. I had a drink and was fed - end of restaurant review.

Would not stay here again and am staying at fewer and fewer HI's overall - too bad as they were a decent hotel brand after the relaunching a few years ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear jch67,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent service, great rooms! We only stayed there for one night but it was great. It is close to San Francisco Airport and also not far from the city, quiet location. Very clean, very spacious, many amenities, definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I absolutely love our stay here. The suite was perfect for me and my daughter. The Hotel was very nice and quiet week. We went to San Francisco during the day and came back every early evening for a nice quiet evening. The team was the best; the restaurant was a very nice setting and the food was very good. My daughter had her own room and I had my own room. The kitchenette was perfect for us, as well.

Room Tip: There is no pool, however there was kids and teen activities in the area, more than enought to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there only a few days but it was great. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond. It was about 15 minutes from San Francisco even with a little bit of traffic. It was perfect. Close enough to the city to not be annoying. Yet far enough away to be relaxing. My room was perfect. Anything extra I needed was brought in good time. I will definitely be staying there the next time I'm in the area. And I've recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling up the coast via Highway 1 and cut over toward San Mateo to make our way down to Yosemite. Had no idea where we were going to stay. We stopped here and are glad we did. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was wonderful, clean, roomy and comfortable. We ate at the bistro, food was fine, the service was slow (even though the were only three other customers).
I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
2.8 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.