We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a regular Marriott” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just a regular Marriott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel sits square on Freeway 101 - the main artery of Silicon Valley, so it does have a great location right next to all the tech companies. I have stayed there and on another occasion attended a conference.
The rooms are nice, service ok - regular Marriott - clean, spacious. The lobby though very nice and clean is just blah! Maybe I was expecting too much :)
The conference facilities were very nice - and the food not too bad. Had breakfast and the food again here was ok. If you are looking for a good hotel in San Mateo with great access to the freeway then this is it but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Kriscruise,

While it's great that you did enjoy our rooms, conference facilities and great access to the freeway, it is, naturally, disappointing for us to hear that we did not exceed your overall expectations. If there are any further details you would like to discuss in regard to our lobby, please do not hesitate to call me at your earliest convenience. Your input allows us to enhance the guest experience. Again, we are sorry for falling short of your expectations and hope to have the chance to deliver an improved stay. Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor review on our hotel.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    175
    85
    30
    23
See reviews for
74
63
25
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a long weekend get-a-away and wanted something near airport. This was great! Still close to SFO for day trips and then convenient to San Jose and the coast as well. Nice staff and rooms were very clean. Great bartender!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear cchurdle,

It is exciting to receive an excellent review from such an avid traveler as yourself! Thank you for sharing how convenient our location was for both day trips to SFO, San Jose and the coast! We have shared your compliments with our bartenders. It's rewarding and encouraging to hear that we are succeeding at serving our guests with exceptional customer service. We can't wait for you and your family to visit again!

Sincerely,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very convenient shuttle to access the San Francisco Airport.
Nice rooms, comfortable, quiet, clean, nothing to complain.
Rooms have all the standards a business traveler needs.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear MaEn151,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and hope we have earned your guest loyalty. Thank you for mentioning that we have everything a business traveler needs. It is always great to receive feedback from our guests, and we thank you for taking the time to give us yours. Our friendly and helpful staff looks forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A short trip by car/taxi/airport shuttle, c20mins, south on the 101 Highway from San Francisco airport this hotel is set-up primarily for business travellers.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff welcoming and friendly. WIFI is free with a fast connection and the hotel provides all you'd expect from a business hotel.

If you're looking for a San Francisco city break then pay a bit extra for your room rate and stay in the city. Airport shuttle buses stopped at 9pm which was a little early for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear MrReay,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent business trip to the U.S. and taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, and that our team helped you enjoy your stay. Your valued opinion on our complimentary airport shuttle has been noted, as we are dedicated to listening to our guests and making the necessary changes and improvements whenever possible. We appreciate your business and hope to accommodate you on your future travels to our area.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for the Hudson Essex car show and had a very nice time. big clean room, friendly folks and polite people. The Hotel Manger Taylor was very good to us every morning, he would smile and greet us daily. Yolanda at the desk was helpful and always smiled like she just came from the dentist! Really great folks here!

Room Tip: long hallways, ask for something first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear joebobjohn,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our management team appreciates your feedback on our warm and friendly staff and spacious accommodations. We have shared your positive insight with our entire team, as it is always encouraging and exciting to receive our guests' recognition of our efforts to deliver the most enjoyable experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we would love to earn your guest loyalty. It would be so nice to see you again and welcome you back on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before heading into SF proper for a conference. This is a large convention hotel somewhat out of the way, but convenient to the airport. The facilities are very clean and modern; I was given a room on the 1st floor with a king bed. Fairly standard Marriott room, comfortable bed, and very very quiet despite being on the 1st floor. The grounds are quite nice with a resort-like feel. Trader Joe's is right across the street, as is a drugstore, a Ross, and a TJ Maxx. Had I been here for longer I might have gone a bit stir crazy, but I also met a friend who came to get me for dinner - the hotel is very close to downtown San Mateo which is chock-full of restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again, but for personal travel this location would not be my first pick.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear dpenta,

It's always great to receive feedback from our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your recent business stay with us. We appreciate your compliments on our quiet and comfortable accommodations and hope your travels bring you back to see us again soon.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The rooms are clean but the beds are starting to wear out. Our big problemwas that the toilet in our room and our other party's room didn't flush properly. The hotel was attentive to the issue. The concierge floor has a great breakfast and good snacks during the day. We enjoyed the stay other than the plumbing issue. We wish they didn't charge for parking, but we knew that going into it. Parking was $22 or $25 valet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear S T,

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we regret that you were inconvenienced by the plumbing issue in your room. It was our pleasure to promptly tend to resolving this and we appreciate your patience and understanding. Your comments are very important to us, as your insight allows us to know where we are succeeding and where improvements need to be considered. Thank you for your review. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.